BOOTING ISSUE

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by AGENT_SMITH, Oct 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AGENT_SMITH

    AGENT_SMITH New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Online
    I AM A NEWBIE AND RECENTLY INSTALLED PCQLINUX ON MY SYSTEM.
    I ALREADY HAD A DUAL BOOT WITH C:/WIN98 AND D:/WINXP
    AFTER INSTALLING LINUX THE OPTIONS FOR BOTH WIN HAVEGONE AND I CANNOT LOG ON TO THEM
    THE BOOTLOADER WAS GRUB
    HELP :?:
     
  2. harmax

    harmax New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    boot into linux and create a boot floppy

    TO RESCUE UR WIN PARTITIONS BOOT INTO UR SYSTEM USING UR WINXP CD AND TYPE : fixmbr
    this would allow u to boot into windowsxp and 98
    if u want to boot to all 3 oses then
    rst ur pc and boot to linux using the linux boot floppy
    goto contrl center and change bootloader to lilo
    traverse to /etc/lilo.conf where u may change default boot options
    save and exit and type lilo and press enter
    this should solve ur problem

    if not .... Gnurag is on the way he WILL solve ur problems ..

    cheers
    harish
     
  3. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    On which drive is Win98 installed and on which one WinXP? I think it must be C and D respectively. But please clarify. You can edit grub.conf file and get those things back.
     
  4. GNUrag

    GNUrag FooBar Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Interwebs
    Please clarify... You say after installing PCQ Linux, the options for Windows have gone ? is this correct ?

    Did you configure Boot loader while doing the PCQ Linux Setup? Otherwise, if Linux is booting then there's no need to worry... You can edit your grub.conf files....
     
  5. harmax

    harmax New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    agent smith r u lisening ?
     
  6. firestarter

    firestarter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    You can boot into linux in a single user mode from a bootable CD ( generally the first instalation CD) and check the /boot/grub/grub.conf

    The booting options are there.
     
  7. firewall

    firewall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata - INDIA
  8. archzillanx

    archzillanx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur,India
  9. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    Isnt that most of the Linux distroes automatically identify Win partitions and configure Boot Loader automatically.This leads to another doubt,has he deleted Win.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page