1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

blank monitor screen with upgraded PC

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by paul_007, Jan 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth
    i upgraded my system 5 dayz back to

    p4 2.8 ghz dual core
    intel 946 mobo
    512 ddr2 667mhz ram
    80 gb hard disk
    xfx 7600gt 256 mb

    monitor is old one purchaased in year 2000(vintron monitor)


    machine is assembled but when i try to install drivers for graphic card then after installation my monitor screen goes black,even when i restart my pc the screen becomes black after showing XP logo. i have to boot up in safe mode and uninstall nvidia drivers then my pc works fine, so right now i am using onboard video and my graphic card is lying waste

    pls help
     
  2. codename_romeo

    codename_romeo Romeo + Lucifer = ME

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    some old monitors dont support modern graphics cards n their drivers......
    my friend had bought a 6200tc then ended up buying a new monitor so that he could use his graphics card
     
  3. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Monitor should not be a problem, even I was using LG purchased in 2003 with 7800GT, or on the other hand it could be as codename_romeo said. Try installing the latest forceware 93.71 drivers from nvidia site and see if that helps.
     
  4. shantanu

    shantanu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    just press F8 during boot up the same screen will appear as in going to safe mode and then click on enable VGA mode after that your PC will start then decrease the resolution and refresh rate to 60 Hz or optimal if 15" try 640*480 and after that increase it to 800*600
     
  5. ranjan2001

    ranjan2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,487
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Delhi
    It sounds to be the refresh rate & wrong (higher) resolution set by default with the new graphic card which ur old monitor is not supporting.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth
    i tried this method...but when i log in safe mode...the resolution is already 640x480 at 60hz refresh rate
    __________
    now i am sure it is a monitor problem....i tried using my friends samsung tft monitor and machine is working perfectly

    now again i have 2 spend 8000 RS.....


    anyway guys thnx for ur help
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  7. shantanu

    shantanu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    oh my god hey buddy the resolution yo have to apply those settings again do it as 800*600 and then 60 hz your pc will work fine...
     
  8. OP
    OP
    paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth

    thnx 4 help ...i will try wat u said..... :)
     
  9. escape7

    escape7 What? Where? How?

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Connect your monitor cable to the graphics card, instead of the onboard VGA output. That should help. Do it after you have installed the drivers for your graphics card. Thats it!
     
  10. OP
    OP
    paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth
    thnx 4 help but my monitor cable is already connected to gfx cards and one thing more..once u have connected ur gfx card ur system wont run on onboard video i mean after connecting ur gfx cards if u put ur monitor cable on onboard socket then ur pc wont boot up



    @shantanu_webmaster

    i tried wat u said but still not working thnx everyone for help

    today i am goin 4 samsung 17 in. lcd monitor
    now finally 2 weekks my gfx card will b in use :))
     
  11. codename_romeo

    codename_romeo Romeo + Lucifer = ME

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had already told ya that the monitor is the bottleneck
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page