1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Bios Update

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by vineetrocks2005, May 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vineetrocks2005

    vineetrocks2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun
    I have an old Compaq Presario with Abit BD-70G motherboard.I want to upgrade its BIOS.Currently I have Award Phoenix 6.0 Bios.Can anyone tell me where i can found the BIOS update of this motherboard.

    Thank u
     
  2. vignesh

    vignesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
  3. mod-the-pc

    mod-the-pc Back to School Mr. Bean !

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chennai
  4. Ramakrishnan

    Ramakrishnan The Researcher

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Be very very careful. One wrong step can make your motherboard unusable.
     
  5. spikygv

    spikygv Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    i dont recommend BIOS update. make sure u're using the correct updater and version of it too . I wud suggest u to get advice from compaq before proceeding, Corrupt bios can render ur mobo useless .and i dont like the idea of sending mobo for rma and waiting for a long time.

    Besides , why d'u wanna do this ??
     
  6. mod-the-pc

    mod-the-pc Back to School Mr. Bean !

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chennai
    There's always a way out (the recovery BIOS I mean and I've recovered from a few bad flashes) !!! So lets not frighten Vineet
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2007
  7. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As long as you follow the instructions properly and the power dosen't go off while updating, there's no reason to believe that something will go wrong.
     
  8. avis_gan

    avis_gan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    do it if you know what u r doing
     
  9. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Oh..its nothing so scary. Just make sure u KNOW how to update a BIOS specific to ur system...and make sure u use a proper flashing utility. :)
     
  10. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Ill just say one thing: "Dont fix it if it ain't broke.."
     
  11. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    He was asking about an older board and so your advice is very relevant.

    But in case of modern Mobos like A8N-E for example, one can update without any fear since in case something goes wrong, the original one can be restored using the Mobo CD only. And the updating can be done from windows itself, either from a downloaded file or directly over the Net. I have already updated it thrice, each within minutes and never facing any problem or having to resort to recovery.
     
  12. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Yeah.. true.. But Never update from windows. Thats even more dangerous. The manufacturer's themselves ask not to update from within windows. And my advice applies to all boards, new and old. Sometimes a BIOS update creates more problems..
     
  13. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    I have updated from windows only and never had any problem. And in the Asus site, I have not seen them discouraging it. Also if it is so, why should they make such a provision in the Asus Auto Update Utility?
     
  14. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    I don't think there will be a problem if you update the BIOS from Windows.
    As long as you follow the rules strictly, there won't be any problem.
    Always update the BIOS when it necessary (to fix some problems).
     
  15. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
  16. Subramanian

    Subramanian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I am also in need of a similar BIOS update like Vineet. Someone was asking why would we need a bios update.

    As the product reaches end of life, the manufacturer does not support. In my case I want to make my Bios boot from a USB 2.0 DVD ROM drive, but I am not able to find the USB option in my Bios CMOS setup utility. So an upgrade becomes necessary.

    regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page