1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Best Mobo+Processor combination for AMD...

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by White`Knight, Jan 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. White`Knight

    White`Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys... i`m building a computer for my BRO... need a good combination for AMD Processor+Mobo+RAM.... My budget is between 16 Gr... He usually plays games like NFSU2/Q3/CS
     
  2. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD athlon64 3000+ - Rs 7k
    MSI rs480m2-il - 4.5k
    512mb RAM(ddr 400)-Kingston - 2.2k

    if budget permits
    add geforce 6600 non gt Gfx card
    cost=Rs 5.5k
     
  3. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    AMD64 3000+ VENICE -> 5700/-
    ASUS A8N-E (no onboard video)-> 5600/-
    ASUS A8N-VM(onboard video)->5650/- approx.(pls check) TO SEE DETAILS: http://www.pcstats.com/artvnl.cfm?articleID=1898
    Go for 512mb ram DDR400 or 1GB if possible.

    If u want a good gfx card then go for leadtek 6600gt 128mb pci-e. Price around 8500-9000/-.

    By the way A8N-VM has good onboard gfx. But if u don't want onboard gfx then go for A8N-E (will give u excellent performance and value for money).
     
  4. OP
    OP
    White`Knight

    White`Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys.. thanx for the advice.. I`ve gotta Geforce FX 5200 card right now.. any chances it`ll go with this combination.. or should I go in for the PCIe cards.. don`t have any ideas on the costs.. think it`ll go outta hand... any sugegestions... The Hardware i already have is..

    1. Hard Drive
    2. Geforce FX 5200 Card
    3. HP Dvd Writer.
    4. ASUS DVD Rom
    5. Creative Inspire 2.1 Series
    6. Keybd/Mouse
    and the shit....

    I`m thinkin of merging the hardware.... IS IT POSSIBLE... Any suggestions????
     
  5. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the onboard video of the mobo's suggested will match the 5200
    so better go fo the PCIe boards
    everythin else looks fine
     
  6. OP
    OP
    White`Knight

    White`Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey vijay [it rhymed] , a couple of questions i wanted to ask...

    1. Does the onboard graphics adapter support OpenGL or is it preferable to go for a PCIe.....
    2. If I stretch my budget, is possible to go for a new comp config in 25 - 30 GR
    .

    Thanx a billion for the advice!!! :)
     
  7. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Yes the onboard gfx of A8N-VM (Geforce 6100/6150) supports OPENGL.

    You can certainly use ur existing components.
    Just buy the new mobo(A8N-E/A8N-VM), RAM and PROCESSOR. Why buy a all new computer? U could upgrade whenever u want.
    I would suggest that if u are willing to spend 25-30K then buy:
    AMD64 3500+ ->11000/-
    A8N-E/A8N-VM->5600/-
    6800GS ->14500/-
    Total = 31100/- this is just a suggestion. But this upgrade would be rocking.

    For further details regarding config and price see this thread by digitized: http://www.thinkdigit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=32509&start=0
     
  8. roydon

    roydon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Hey guys ,my new parts just came in;

    AMD Athlon64 3000+ (Venice) >>5,700
    MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum ->>5,800
    1 GB (2*512MB) DDR 400 Ram >>3,600
    Leadtek GeForce 6800GS >>15,000

    Planning on getting a BenQ FP71V+ 17" LCD Monitor(5 ms responce time)
    :twisted:
     
  9. OP
    OP
    White`Knight

    White`Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do we get these parts at the same cost in Pune as well.... If so do u knw any place i can buy reliable hardare?? Thanx!!! :)
     
  10. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    3500+ is not worth the cost difference....
    3200+ is logcal choice...



    my suggesion here..


    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ -------------------------- 8000
    ASUS A8N-VM ----------------------------------- 4500
    2*512Mb Corasir value select 2.5 CL----------- 5000

    total Rs. 17500/- ..... this is the BEST u can get
    If the budget is strict 16000 then get 2x512 Hynix which will be around 4000 so tatal is... Rs. 16500/-


    and u will not deed ut graphics card this motherboard has good integrated graphics and a PCI-E slot so that u can get a PCI-E graphics card later and upgrade...
     
  11. OP
    OP
    White`Knight

    White`Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How good is the Transcend RAM as compared to Corsair?? I`m kinda having a hard time to find Corsair in Pune....
     
  12. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    corsair is the top of the notch brand

    transcend & kingston follow
    make sure u make it 2*512, to get the dual channel advantage
     
  13. OP
    OP
    White`Knight

    White`Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was going thru these processors.. found out AMD has got this FX series and the X2 series... wad are these about.. anythin special bout these? can i upgrd to these processors on the ASUS A8N-VM... one more thing... this mobo has onboard video.. can i still upgrd to a card later on??? Thanx....
     
  14. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago

    yes u can upgrade to those processors as long as socket 939 is around....

    also u can get a better graphics card later on that motherboard, it has a PCI-E x16 slot
     
  15. izzikio_rage

    izzikio_rage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    out of phase with this dimension
    hey lots of people near kolkatta are telling me that the 3000+ has been discontinued? is this true?If so then what is the next best alternative considring that the 3200 does not seem justifed for its price
     
  16. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    3200+ is logical choice if u r not getting 3000+.....
    it is 3500+ which does not justify the price. Go for 3200+.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    White`Knight

    White`Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi guys... thanx to ya, I got a good configuration.... I got AMD 3200+/1GB Transcend Ram/Asus A8N - VM... Any idea how much the X2 processors cost? Will most probably upgrade in 3-4 months...
     
  18. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    yeah 3000+ for socket939 is not available in kolkata...

    since u are in kolkata i say u read my post again... it has the best and itś all available in kolkata....
     
  19. OP
    OP
    White`Knight

    White`Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any idea how much the X2 processors cost?
     
  20. abhijit_reddevil

    abhijit_reddevil Manchester United

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Only two available here:

    3800+ X2: 18k
    4200+ X2: 26.5k
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page