Best Linux distro

Status
Not open for further replies.
guyz,i am a linux newbie and dont know much about it.
i just installed PCLinuxOS on my PC and kuch samajh nahi aa raha.
which is the best linux distro for a newbie.
and which is the best overall.
PClinuxOS looks gud,excellent but i just dont know how to use it.
please help guyz.
please.

faraaz

Evil Genius
Try Ubuntu if you want. I'm surprised PCLINUXOS is giving you a hard time but, considering its REALLY newbie friendly, especially to former Windows users.

Just give it some time, mess around with it and get used to the different things you can do I guess.

@faraaz,i have 8600GT,i cant get its drivers for linux.
i cannot setup net on it.
can u give me any readme or something as i cant find any help inside the PClinuxOS.
BTW ,it looks very gud.
i will be glad id i come to know how to use it.
is there any software on it to automatically get the drivers.
i hope intel drivers and webcam driverswork on it.
does it have wine?
whre can i get its wallpapers and themes?

faraaz

Evil Genius
Have you tried Synaptic manager? That has everything...

As for your driver, I know for a fact that NVidia has released beta binary drivers for its 8600 series cards on their website. Just go download and install.

Also, try reading the PCLinuxOS Wiki, and I suggest asking questions on the PCLOS forums, not here...as the people there are more likely to be able to help you.

skghosh44

dig_boy_dig,dig !
There is a command for setup DSL internt connection in ubuntu/kubuntu. I think it may same in other linux Distro also. You can try it.

In the terminal window type
Code:
sudo pppoeconf
a wizard will appear go through the wizard in most the cases yes. Some where it ask for whether u will start dsl at system startup, press yes/no as per your choice.
After setting up the connection open terminal window and type under mentioned command to start the connection
Code:
pon dsl-provider
and for disconnection type
Code:
poff dsl-provider