Avast Stratup problem

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by shaunak, Sep 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shaunak

    shaunak Tux Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Imm using avast and zonealarm. although windows starts up fine, it takes a long time for avast to initialize during which it displays a strikeout over its tray icon.on right clicking it shows an rpc error. it takes nearly two minuites for it to initialize during which i cant use my system.
    My startup items are:
    >zlclient [zonealarm]
    >ctfmon.exe [office bar]
    >avast!
    Help!
     
  2. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    It happens with me also several times.
    When I login, avast shows a strikeout over its icon and after a few seconds it starts rolling :D
     
  3. blackpearl

    blackpearl The Devil

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    0x02AE88C6FF
    Yes, that happens. Try doing this. Click on program settings>common and disable "Test memory during startup". This will speedup a bit.
     
  4. deepgeek2

    deepgeek2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in .Net
    Well... I think here startup refers to the Scanner and not the resident shields....So, do you really think Avast checks memory after win login?
     
  5. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    za is usually the first one to startup. it does take a litle time. then avast startsup. my experience hac also been the same. so i think its normal. nevertheless u can try to use 'microsoft bootvis' or 'driverheaven tune-xp' to make ur booting process a little faster. :)

    the option is 'test memory during applications startup". i may be wrong but only resident protection starts up after booting. unchecking this may no help u. its only during starting the avast application interface that memory scan is not done if u uncheckthis box.
     
  6. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    The problem is not to make the startup faster, but the main problem is why avast! shows "strikeout over its icon" sometimes at startup? it doesnt occur all the times but sometimes. I think it checks something and then starts...
     
  7. s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,608
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    if you dont get any solution, then try AVG Free, i'm using it on my Desktop as well as Laptop, without any issues like this.

    the start-Up time for my Desktop is around 15 seconds after "LogOn screen" & if i disable the ZoneAlarm Pro, then its less than 10 seconds!!

    full start-up time (right from when the Power is turned ON) is around 40-50 seconds.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page