AV 4 Linux...?

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by LEARNER_LEARNER, Dec 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LEARNER_LEARNER

    LEARNER_LEARNER Fedora User

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Dwarika)
    Hi guys,any AntiVirus 4 linux(FC6),nd which AV best in FC6.I want 2 install Av in my laptop.ThanX in Advance:mrgreen:
     
  2. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^
    Linux needs no Anti-virus. Don't even bother installing one on it and wasting your time.

    But if you are persistant no matter what, then I guess you better use - ClamAV
     
  3. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    if u are a home user u will never need a AV
     
  4. Desi-Tek.com

    Desi-Tek.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    @LEARNER_LEARNER do u surf net as root? if yes than nothing can save u otherwise u don't need to use a.virus on linux
     
  5. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    AV in Linux is just for filtering viruses that affect windows. Like, if you run a mailserver on linux with windows clients then it makes sense to install an AV.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    LEARNER_LEARNER

    LEARNER_LEARNER Fedora User

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Dwarika)
    I'm net surfing on linux everyday(10Hrs) nd download many files(wallpaper,screensaver,etc) everyday nd worked from root user(no user account).some virus come in wallpaper,screensaver.ok
    any idea AV 4 linux..
     
  7. Sykora

    Sykora I see right through you.

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    If I take it to understand that you use the internet from your root account -- What on earth are you doing?

    Create another account for yourself and use that. Root privileges should be used rarely, if at all -- and only if you know perfectly what you're doing. If you download stuff as root, you'll just give them privileges to do what they want, and necessitate an anti-virus. If you use an ordinary user account, you'll be fine.
     
  8. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whoa! Root browsing? Lmao, get back to windows and be safer.
     
  9. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    LEARNER_LEARNER right click on the virus, go to permissions tab, then check all the box where permissions 'executable' are written, click OK. Now double click the file. Now come back and tell us what happens.
    Sykora why do you need anti-virus on linux even if using a root account?
     
  10. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Yeah! I dont think there is any risk browsing as root user! The only reason people suggest not using root account is becaue you yourself can mess up a LOT of things logged in as root, not that any malware can harm you!
     
  11. OP
    OP
    LEARNER_LEARNER

    LEARNER_LEARNER Fedora User

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Dwarika)
    Hi Tech_Your_future u r saying "aa sadh mujhe maar".u r right bro kalpik.
    please don't mind it Tech_Your_future.bye bye
     
  12. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Root + Web Browsing is bad if you encounter some script that says it'll do so and so good thing to you and you run it, it does a rm -rf and kaboom, you're gone! That's how someone else explained it to me though :(
     
  13. Desi-Tek.com

    Desi-Tek.com New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    i asked the same question to 1 of the debian developer in irc and this is wat he said
     
  14. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    If a malicious root kit takes over a system as a root user, your whole system is a goner but as a non-root user, it can't affect beyond the ~ directory but then if your sudo is unconfigured then of course your whole system is vulnerable surely.

    LEARNER_LEARNER, that will do no harm cos the virus will look for windows but since linux will have nothing about windows, the virus cannot do anything at all to your linux. Why do you think I asked you to do that? Nothing happens. If you have wine installed then if the virus looks for windows APi's then it may corrupt wine nothing beyond that.
    __________
    dheeraj IRC can be a danger too :p if you are on wrong server.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2006
  15. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    what if u have windows partiitions mounted..viruses can sure access those partns including ur system32 partn also.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    LEARNER_LEARNER

    LEARNER_LEARNER Fedora User

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi (Dwarika)
    Hi prakash no mounted windows partitions in linux,i've create ext3 partition in linux.ok
    ThanX 4 reply...........

    Hi tecH_ur_future i was thinking mayb infected my pc from virus bcoz required AV 4 linux.
    ok all guys reply with details.
    ThanX all guys u r really rock..........
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page