auto shut down

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by agm_105, Sep 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agm_105

    agm_105 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    hi frnds
    i have a celeron 1.7 ghz with 256 mb ram 80 gb hdd & win XP SP1 . i bought this in june but i have a srious problems from that time my pc automaticly shutdowns no warning nothing its just turns off when i try to restart it doesnt strats . i have to switch off the main power supply an start all over again . i have good power suppy ther is grnd in the power supply . i even got one ups but still no solution my dealer said maybe there is virus . so he formatted the hdd but after some days same thing is happening. one peculariti my pc shutsdown after approx one hr after i have have switched it on . it happens every hr

    need help on that any one i gone mad abt this
     
  2. medpal

    medpal Medic on Call!!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    surat, gujarat
    does it give 1 min countdown before shutting down?

    i think there may be blaster worm on your comp.

    post your hijackthis log file here for the pros to help you.
     
  3. aadipa

    aadipa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palghar, Mumbai
    u may be having faulty power supply

    also check if ur motherboard/processor doesn't over-heat
     
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    @medpal ... i dun think the worm would give a 1 hour waiting before giving hte one minute warning
    and im quite sure he didnt get a warning ... so my bet is a faulty PSU too ... and since he shuts down and immediately restarts .. i doubt it being heating problems either ...
    but yet .. give all three a try .. theres always something new
     
  5. OP
    OP
    agm_105

    agm_105 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    there is no coutdown i have cheked with mcaffe virus it doesnt show any virus. i have updated WIN XP . thnx for concern
    any other solution let me know
     
  6. OP
    OP
    agm_105

    agm_105 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    ]


    how to check power supply ? also when first time this problem occured i asked my dealer to change m/b and processor
    i had mercury m/b now i have a krypton m/b both where 845 chipset any other sepcification u want plz let me now
    thnakx for ur concern
     
  7. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    well if it doesnt work with the new mobo and proccy then its definitely the power supply
    either ways .. try using a friends power supply ... or get a spare from somehere and use it .. and check whether the system still shuts down in an hour ...
     
  8. ishaan

    ishaan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    mebe da cabinet is spoilt somehow....or da part in da cpu wich handles elec....once this happened 2 me cuz a SCREW fell inside my motherboard n something happened n it melted sumhow
     
  9. amistik

    amistik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jorhat
    agm_105

    you may do following things -

    Dont boot your pc up to XP. Instead go to CMOS settings and keep their ideal for few minutes. Best if you keep in CPU/Fan temp and rpm page. It also help you to observe the status of your pc. If here is your pc give a reset then most probably you have a faulty MBD.

    Check the voltages if you have any multimeter. And also Ground. UPS take care your voltage fluctuation but not ground. It should be below 4V (Neutral-Earth voltage).

    Check the Eventlog in XP and try to find probable cause for shutdown /reboot.

    I have a problem a few days back. My XP got rebooting while booting and i have to wait for half an hour before making power switch on. It was the earthing problem. I have corrected and now pc working well
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page