Auto Complete Feature

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by ashok, Dec 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ashok

    ashok New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    I use The Auto-Complete Feature in IE 6 Extensively.All My UserNames &
    Passwords are stored in the Auto Complete and I Just Double-Click
    In the Box and select my Username and the Password gets automatically
    filled.All My Family Members also have their Usernames & Passwords in
    the Fields.I Use Win 98.

    My problem is that A Friend of Mine had accessed her Email and some
    other websites from My PC.Now I see that her username is displayed
    in the list when I Double-click in the 'Username' Box.Is there any way to
    delete Just that particular Username from the List without Deleting/cleaning
    the entire Auto-Complete Menu (Using WindowWasher
    for eg.)For Email sites,like yahoo I have no Problem,But in Gmail and
    other websites,the name is prominently displayed....Please Help me Rid
    of it......
     
  2. pandher

    pandher New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chandigarh(PUNJAB)
    reply

    hi friend
    i don't the exact the solution to ur problem
    but i have a got a little suggestion
    please don't use auto complete so extensively
    this is a great threat to your security and privacy
    so avoid it
    by this it becomes very easy for other persons to access your accounts
    and other things
    it is just like keeping the door of your house open
    while going outside
    hope u will like it and keep it in your mind
    signing of
    byeee
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ashok

    ashok New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Thanx For ur concern Pandher but since My PC is used
    only by my Family members,there is no chance for spying
    or accessing our personal a/c's.I've got a BIOS password that only those who use the PC know and Myself's is the Admin Password.

    So Is deleting the entire History,the only option for me?
     
  4. go4inet

    go4inet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    clearing ur interent cache cud solvethis problem dude :)
     
  5. imprince

    imprince New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ludhiana
    hey use win XP prof,, and leave one GUEST account switched on for all of ur friends ?
    and install ur auto fill software only on admin. side ..... this will solve ur problem
     
  6. suhas_sm

    suhas_sm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Goto ie Option -> Content -> auto Complete -> then click on clear Form and clear Password.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    ashok

    ashok New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Yeah..But that will delete
    all my Auto-Fill names n Passwords....I just wanna delete only ONE entry
    from the List.Acn't it be done by some registry tweaking? IF It can't be
    done then I've no option but to delete the entire list...
     
  8. ramank

    ramank New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    You can delete single AutoComplete entries in forms (entry boxes). Here's how: Locate the text box that you want to remove the saved AutoComplete entry from. Double-click within the text box. This will bring up a list of saved AutoComplete entries. Move your mouse cursor over the entry to delete so that it is highlighted.
    Press the Delete key on your keyboard.
    This tip is for Internet Explorer.

    Just googling got me this! Was this useful?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    ashok

    ashok New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Yay...It works man....Thanx a Ton.....Silly of me not to Google it
    Now i just haveta open all the Webpages where that entry is present
    and go on Deleting away.....Still haveta check whether it will return back
    at a later time or not.....Anyways..Thanx again Ramank
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page