athlon 64 or athlon x2 ???

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Omsck, Dec 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Omsck

    Omsck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mars
    hi. ..
    im thinking of this :
    ASUS M2NPV-VM
    2*512 ram 533
    athlon 64 3000+ OR athlon X2 3600+ (both am2)

    now the processor is worrying me
    how much is the difference between these two??
    is there huge performance difference??
    if i put a gud gfx card later, will the proccy matter??
    ive read somwhere that if u put a gud gfx card, a athlon64 3000+ works good enough ...
    nd athlon 64 is almost half the price of X2
    r the prices of X2 coming down ???
    then i can change it to a better X2 later
    so... what should i do??
     
  2. webgenius

    webgenius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    better get a core2duo. Its lot better than X2 or 3000+.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Omsck

    Omsck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mars
    but what abt my query??
     
  4. webgenius

    webgenius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    x2 is obviously better than 3000+. X2 prices don't seem to be coming down now. Their prices have already been slashed.
     
  5. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    ofcourse the X2 3600+ will be better , even than an insanely oc'ed 3000+ ..
     
  6. rajasekharan

    rajasekharan New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Now in Palakkad :-)
    Go for x2 3600 mate :) . . Put asus m2n-e if not planning to insanely overclock . You can do mild overclock .
     
  7. assasin

    assasin Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durgapur
    If u hav the budget den go for C2D,it'll be a far better dan X2.

    Athlon 64 X2 3600+> Athlon 64 3000+
     
  8. da_tcpip

    da_tcpip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    X2 is definitely better than 3000+.. and btw.. C2D are only compared Amd Fx versions.. so ts a diff story altogether
     
  9. codename_romeo

    codename_romeo Romeo + Lucifer = ME

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    X2.............all the way
     
  10. shantanu

    shantanu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    X2 is better its DUAL CORE BUDDY
     
  11. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    But it would be better if u get a graphics card as it will provide better gameplay with 300+ than a 3600+X2 without graphics card
     
  12. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    X2 3600+ with 6100 IGP is the lowest he'd get anyway ..
     
  13. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    But if he get 3000+ with 7600 GS with 256/512 MB graphics RAM then it will be better for playing games. Isn't it
     
  14. ambandla

    ambandla Sup' dude, Sup'

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bangalore
    And if he get's X2 with 7600 GS with 256/512MB GPU RAM, it will be even better for playing games. Isn't it.

    @Omsck Go and get X2. Dual core is future proof and there is amazing difference in performance between 3000+ and X2 even when 3000+ is overclocked to the extremes. btw, X2 is more overclocker friendly.
     
  15. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    @Omsck
    one thing u should remember. Future games like UT07 nd Crysis nd all upcoming games are optimised to run on dual/quad cores. A single core cpu would be a bottleneck even if u have a good gcard. Those games like crysis are more CPU intense, nd in the recc. req for such games u can see "Dual core preffered" nd even an X2 3600+ would do the job.
    I would suggest get X2 3600+/X2 3800+/C2D E6300 along with a 6100/6150/X 3000 IGP, and later upgrade to a mid end DX10 card (GF8 series like 8600 or 8400).
     
  16. shantanu

    shantanu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    HEY BUDDY X2 is really good GO FOR IT
     
  17. kin.vachhani

    kin.vachhani Dreaming Future

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    \internet\home
    x2 rocks'
     
  18. keith_j_snyder2

    keith_j_snyder2 Rising ApocalypsE

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U r querry is solved,i believe but check out the latest & greatest man!!!
    Core2Duo is the hottest thing & u can have it with spending almost little more than AMD & it will give u value for ur money & its performance is way better than AMD....so far.U should run with the technology!!!
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Omsck

    Omsck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mars
    thanx a lot evryone, ill go for the x2 then ...can someone plz tell me the current prices for : x2 3600+ , asus m2npv-vm, 160 gb sata hdd,dvd writer, 2*512 ram 533....which brand of ram shud i use ? does it matter? nd plz give prices at mumbai...
     
  20. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    X2 3600+ 6k
    Asus M2NPV-MX 4.7k
    160GB HDD 2.9k
    Liteon DVD writer 1.9k
    1 GB RAM 4.5k (Buy 1x1 GB RAM not 2x512 MB)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page