ASP or PHP - which is easy to learn

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajaybc

Youngling
Iam a complete beginner in web designing.
Which of the two languages ASP and PHP is easy to learn?
Please leave all ur hatred towards MS for a while and answer sincerely and help me.

chandru.in

In the zone
I'd strongly suggest PHP.
  1. It is widely used and still growing in usage.
  2. Personally I also feel PHP's documentation is excellent (does not mean ASP's is bad, just that I like PHP's).
  3. Comparatively ASP is going downwards in usage as MS is pushing ASP .Net.

nileshgr

Wise Old Owl
PHP. Its a lot easy to learn if you have a little C background. That's not required actually... just read the documentation, practice and you are a g33ky PHP developer. The biggest advantage of learning PHP is it is supported in all types of servers - Apache (its basic inclination is towards this), M$ IIS, and many others... So you are not limited to choosing a costly Windows Web Host for using ASP... You can have PHP on a cheap Linux server... Linux web-hosts are a lot more cheap than windows ones.

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
I am not sure if it's still there on not, but there was a thread on Fight Club section by Desi-Tek on PHP vs ASP.net vs JSP read it.

shaunak

Tux Fan
PHP because:
1> Easier to learn
2> Free hosting easily available so you can practice.
3> Easy to find help
4> Uncomplicated, task oriented language
5> Platform Independent

nileshgr

Wise Old Owl
PHP because:
1> Easier to learn
2> Free hosting easily available so you can practice.
3> Easy to find help
4> Uncomplicated, task oriented language
5> Platform Independent
something more to add in the second point --

you can download OFFICIAL PHP for installation on your PC and practise OR use free setups like easyphp, etc.

chandal_keta

Broken In
even i am after this question and i am lucky to be part of this wonderful family....