1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

Anyone out there help this poor lad!! :(

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by tushar_novice, Aug 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    :( Please tell me hoew to set up R-Connect FWP phone for use of internet in linux

    Also i want to buy new processor (of course athlon 64), a new mobo, new gfx card, can anyone tell me the good ones available. My BUDGET is 30-35k.
    :( :( :( :( :( :(
     
  2. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    My BUDGET is 30-35k.

    30-35k for the agp card or the entire system?
    Please specify.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    Re:

    The budget specified is for the whole system.
    I think no one is India owns a gfx card for 30-35k.
     
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    amd 64 2800 11400
    asus mobo 7000
    512 mb ram 3800
    ati radeon 9800 pro 14500
    total =36700
     
  5. Ricky

    Ricky Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    who have asked ur question twice !
     
  6. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    A slight change in ravens info:

    AMD 64 2800 6.9k/ 3200+ for 11k
    Asus K8V 6.9k (there are cheaper alternatives arnd 5k too)
    17' monitor 6.5k
    Ram hynix 512 DDR 400:3.8k
    Hdd 80Gb 3k. (approx)
    cd-writer:1.7k
    =26.9k

    Adding a good gfx card like Radeon 9600pro 8.5k

    =35k
     
  7. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    he didnt mention hdd cd writer etc :D
    and oops abt the processor prices
    sorry ... dunno what i was thinkin
     
  8. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK

    You can't do it on linux...
     
  9. OP
    OP
    tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    Of course One can use R-connect in Linux. But it is the mobile that u can use, drivers for FWP are not there. The drivers are BETA.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    Hey blade I thought that 64 was starting from 2900 is there any 2800 also. I checked the site(www.amd.com) some days back.
     
  11. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    AMD 64 starts off with AMD 64 2800+.....chk it again .......Then again it might be region specific .......but there's a small chance of that.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    I searched OK 2800 exists.
     
  13. gaurav_018

    gaurav_018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want just the mobo+processor+ram+agp= in 20,000 only

    what config should i buy?i am very into games.
     
  14. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    AMD 64 2800+ 7k
    Gigabyte K8T800M 5k
    256Mb DDR400 2k
    Powercolor Radeon 9600 7.5k/ 9600pro 8.5k

    21k.
     
  15. gaurav_018

    gaurav_018 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how about i get a 9800 for 14k and settle for 256mb ram for a while?
    than what processor+ mobo do you recomend for 7,000?
     
  16. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    In 64 bit this is the lowest u can get, maybe u cud get a mobo at 4.5k MSI one but i am not sure of the prices. Even if you want to go for a Athlon XP processor, then going for a slower one wudn't make much sense as it wudn't compliment the GPU. However its good that people these days are going for hi-end GPU, things have started to change ......... ;)
     
  17. amitsaudy

    amitsaudy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    N for the better.
    Seems i m the only oldfashioned one.
    WahaWay sobs..
     
  18. oldmonk

    oldmonk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Of course you can do it in linux!!!!!!

    But first tell me which distro u use.

    Down load the rconnect script from the reliance website.

    Once you do that ill let you know actually its trivially easy :lol: :lol:
     
  19. OP
    OP
    tushar_novice

    tushar_novice New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saturn
    Hey my distro is RH9. The drivers available on Reliance site does not support Rh9. It supports Rh8. Well after some coding told by RIcky i have createde a script but now a msg "Data service unavailable" is diplayed on my phone screen.
     
  20. devilhead_satish

    devilhead_satish New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Satishsays.com
    Are you a bit off your rocker?

    30-35k. I suppose you do read Digit. AMD advertises over there.Cut the slip and their reprensentatives will contact you. 30-35k yeah that's a big budget for all the dooh-dads you want.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page