1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

antivirus confusion.

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by saurabh.sauron, Feb 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    i got realy confused after seeing so many antivirus's. i want to ask if avast! is really reliable? is it better than norton?
     
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    I find avast reliable. I used to use it. I find it better than norton as norton used to be a big resource hog in the past, dunno how is it now. I found a good detection rate in avast. Also, considering the recent norton's rootkit controversy, it would be good to choose avast over it.
    BTW post in correct section if you expect answers to your questions.
     
  3. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    avsta and avg are Great freeware antivirus.
    stick with them ! no need to really pay for one !
    also download and use a anti-spyware like adaware or spybot.
     
  4. rajas700

    rajas700 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    None can beat Norton Internet Security.Even though it take's some space it work's fine.many people say that it's a slow one.But when u go on use it u won't feal that i use it for 3 year's......

    [​IMG]

    And none of the antivirus give's all the feature's.........
     
  5. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    Well i just wanna know which AV is the least resource hogger?? Currently i am under the impression that its Panda AV. If there is any AV thats faster and has an average protecing capability plz tell me :)
     
  6. rajas700

    rajas700 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why don't u wan't 100% protection???????
     
  7. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    b'coz i am sure by PC won't be constantly under attack
     
  8. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    avg and nod32 r said to leave the lowest memory footprint. bitdefender, i rate highly; but its freeware version doz not give fulltime protection, it can only act as a on-demand scanner.
     
  9. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    AVG light on system??? I don't think so. I have used AVG 6.x and it hogged my system a lot..
     
  10. sidewinder

    sidewinder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bengal
    not again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. sid_ashok

    sid_ashok New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Varanasi
    vote for avast! its awsome
     
  12. __Virus__

    __Virus__ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Always using Kaspersky and will :| My antivirus was never infected my any virus unlike others except Kaspersky :|
     
  13. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    dude virus what does your antivirus shows when u sit infront of computer???
     
  14. djmykey

    djmykey Let the music play.....

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    My experience with NOD32 was that it was the root cause of all the hangs my system has started to get now-a-days. After using KAV for a reeeeeallly long time I thought of to give NOD a shot but that AV was just too heavy for my system given that KAV used to run nicely on my system. When I checked I saw that NOD also took up the same RAM as much as KAV. Now which ver u ppl were using I dunno but my NOD was eating up almost 20 MB RAM. Its startup was painstakingly slow and it used to frequently hang my machine. See I'm not starting any war o anything this is just my personal experience and hence I just thought to shar it with ya ppl/
     
  15. Retro

    Retro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ::Geek-O-Sphere::
    Does'nt this thread belong in Software Troubleshooting?.. *Calls for a mod*
     
  16. hpotter606

    hpotter606 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    I found avast a good antivirus and it is easy to use and uses less memory. Currently i have installed Ez trust antivirus and it doesnt seem good. I will switch back to avast now.
     
  17. readermaniax

    readermaniax New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i use McAfee and it rocks
     
  18. rajat22

    rajat22 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere at Kolkata
    What the resources will do if there is no system....taken away by any virus :?:
    Play very safe.... I prefer Norton
     
  19. sujithtom

    sujithtom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not anywhere near you
    McAfee's pirated version is hard to get :(
     
  20. shakti

    shakti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    visnagar
    I m using McAfee and it will work fine
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page