Antivirus and firewall for servers.

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by hpotter606, Feb 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hpotter606

    hpotter606 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    I need a antivirus for the IBM server. I have installed windows 2000 advanced server in it. Which are the companies that provide firewalls and antivirus for servers? Whcih is the best? Are there any special type of antiviruses for servers and because i could not install home editions on servers.
    The server is connected to internet but is a file server. Internet is only used to update the OS and sometimes brwosing. It is connected through a switch and a proxy. I think there is a virus in the server but kav online scanners is not working for it.

    Please help. Ask for any details you need.
    thanks.
     
  2. userbanned

    userbanned New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Better try with norton or escan(both has corporate edition).
     
  3. bit

    bit Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are looking for software firewall then Kerio Winroute is considerable.
    Kaspersky Anti-Virus 6 (beta) is also worth to have.
     
  4. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I am quite happy with Kerio Winroute firewall..pretty good and works like charm...

    For antivirus..norton corp. edition is good...

    Regards,
    Deep
     
  5. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I am using AVG antivirus and Agnitum Post Firewall. Both are really good. I suggest you go for them or atleast give it a try.
     
  6. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    We are talking about server level firewall and antivirus here
     
  7. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    :lol: Deep planetcall is nothing wrong The problem ishe dosen't point out clear i suppose.AVG has AVG Plus Firewall Edition
    It supports Maximum antivirus and firewall protection for up to 5 computers.AVG Anti-Virus plus Firewall Edition is the ideal product to protect your single home PC or workstation from external threats such as viruses, the Internet, and other network users. :p

    Chkt in:
    Code:
    http://www.grisoft.com/doc/avgplusfw/lng/us/tpl/tpl01#Compatibility

    But what i prefer is norton(corp edition)........
     
  8. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
  9. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    Sorry for the above post deep but look here:
    Code:
    http://www.grisoft.com/doc/29/lng/us/tpl/tpl01?lic=l_fse
    Code:
    http://www.grisoft.com/doc/29/lng/us/tpl/tpl01?lic=l_net
     
  10. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    But the link you provided were of not server version right?

    Have you ever used the server version? The guy Planetcall is not talking about the server version...

    for server level norton antivirus is used or antivirius by mcafee (comes with kerio winroute firewall) is used...

    Those are better for server level protection...I have used so know them...

    Deep
     
  11. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    The link i gave has's a MS Windows NT Server 4.0
    MS Windows 2000 server
    MS Windows 2003 Server
    MS Windows 2003 Server x64 Edition .

    I have used windows 2003 sever deep.YA deep
    The guy Planetcall is not talking about the server version...
    And ur right norton is better.
     
  12. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I meant the links you had given previously...not in last msg but the msg before that
     
  13. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    Ya deep the link i have given(previously)were not server.I feel sorry for that :cry: And the link i provide after is server. :lol: :p
     
  14. OP
    OP
    hpotter606

    hpotter606 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    Thanks for your help deep and devarajan. I have installed norton corp edition in the server. Soon i will also install the firewall.

    But....
    Do i require to install firewall on proxy server too? The proxy server is a linux server. i think my father told me that there is a firewall in it already. But still if you have any suggetion which firewalll to use, please let me know.
    Thanks again.
     
  15. devarajan

    devarajan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NEVER STOP'S....
    Chkt in
    Code:
    http://www.grennan.com/Firewall-HOWTO.html
    Code:
      http://www.trustix.com/
    what i feel is that u have a firewall in it.It must be strong i suppose so need of further.Anyway better PM deep and as the expert :lol: .(In case he dosen't reply). :p
     
  16. Deep

    Deep Version 2.0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    For antivirus, you dont have to install any firewall...but for linux squid is a good solution for proxy server..for windows..as I mentioned earlier...Kerio Winroute firewall is very good...

    Regards,
    Deep
     
  17. digen

    digen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Belgaum
    Although this might not been the right time for me to jump in but I fail to understand why would one use a server to browse the Internet ?It baffles me to be frank.

    If servers were used for browsing then what difference is between a workstation & a server apart from the hardware.Forgive me but the analogy would be a clerk & the principal sharing the same chair in college office!

    *No offence meant to either clerks nor principals worldover.

    Inafct it makes me believe that your server was infected because of such casual browsing & similar actions.

    Anyways we at workplace are bound with Norton Corporate Edition(i'm not a fan of norton but company policies you see :|).All traffic flows through Dans guardian ( http://dansguardian.org/ ) which has Iptables running on it to block unwanted traffic coming inbound.Plus we got a hardware firewall in place.

    I would suggest you to configure your Squid machine with iptables according to your needs & network requirement.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    hpotter606

    hpotter606 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur
    I know the server was infected because of browsing(not casual). We are currently starting an enterprise and we have to use server too for the working as we cant afford many computers.

    I am in hurry right now but i will reply later...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page