antec power supply

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by yogi7272, Jul 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yogi7272

    yogi7272 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    vashi, navi mumbai
    i am looking for antec 500 w psu .. now there seem to be three ranges

    smart power , true power and neo he .. with neo series to be the best ..

    i was quoted 4800 rs for sm 2.0 - 500 w psu... oem pack .. now what is the difference between oem pack and retail one for psu .. i understand that it comes without box packing .. but are the necessary cables provided with it

    also is it safe to go for oem pack .. i just want sm 2.0 as other series 500 w is too cosly .. also this is for my old configuration .. p4 3.2@4 ghz , 1 gb ram, 6600 gt 256 mb , asus 865 pe etc ..

    as i am going for conroe rig in a months time ..

    pls comment ....

    i am from mumbai ..
     
  2. Ch@0s

    Ch@0s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As long as the warranty is the same, its okay. However when you are spending so much, spend a little bit more and get NeoHE. It'll work in your future rigs too whereas the SP and TP will be obsolete.
     
  3. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well .. i'll rate it for you .. Neo HE > TP > SP ... but overall considering the price i'd suggest u to get a SP2.0 500W ... it'd be quite enough for any good config now , if u don't plan to SLi in the future .. even then none would be enough then .. the least rated would a 550W then ...

    Antec SP2.0 500W should give u 38A acroos dual 12V rail with modular output ... thats quite a good PSU ....

    Also . i doubt the price is that high ... coz the Neo HE is just over 5k's .. it'd be close to 4k's i think ...
     
  4. Ch@0s

    Ch@0s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where did you dig that figure out from? :p.

    The SP500 has 17A+19A. But you can't add them up. It has 480W total power and out of that 180W is thru 3.3V and 5V. So 300W of power is available on 12V which translates to 25A. For dual rail PSUs, simply adding both the rails ain't gonna help :p
     
  5. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Dig up ur senses .... 17A on 12V1 and 19A on 12V2 ... so that adds up to 38A across 12V ... dedicated rails remember ??? so the mobo , CPU etc. etc. gets supply from a diff. rail while the other components like CDRW , Graphics Cards etc. etc. from the other rail ...

    http://www.antec.com/specs/SP500_spe.html

    Also .. about the power thing .. the PSu has a max. load output of 480W when all 5V , 12V and 3.3V out are used up ... leaving the 12V out gives a max. output 180W ... this does not mean that the 12V get only 300W ... its not like addition u know ..

    Also ... 38A across dual 12V is a generalised term .. then it'll be hard to find any PSU giving over 25A across 12V ... specially with modular or multi railed PSU's ...
     
  6. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    I am using an SP 500 which came with the Antec TX1050B bought few days back. It works fine, almost silent and above all the power connectors are modular, ie. you connect only the cables you want, thus reducing clutter inside the case and improving air flow, helping to reduce temp build up.
     
  7. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the Antec SP500. It has 19A + 17A in 12V1 and 12V2 rail. This seems 36A if you add them together. But although it might give 19A on one + few more on the other or 17A on one and few more on the other, it doesn't mean that it can give you 36A on the 12V line.

    Watt/Volt = Ampere in this situation atleast
    W/V=A

    Antec SP500 has a total peakouput of 300 watts on 12v1 and 12v2 lines together.
    300/12=25
    since it is on the +12va line which means 12 volts or 12V.

    The output it mentions if at 25C, so will probably get less than 25A on the 12va lines. It couldn't power my 1900XTX so returned it and suffered heavily both financial loss and a waste of 1-1.5 months if not more.
    I still haven't received my neo from the itdepot.

    Antec NeoHE 500 gives 17+17+17 A, tri rail psu, but in total it gives only 38A which is the max possible or 456 watts I think.

    try extreme.outervision.com

    please tell your cpu model, core etc, number of hdd's etc.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    yogi7272

    yogi7272 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    vashi, navi mumbai
    i will mention again .. this psu is for my secondary rig .. hence no sense in going for neo of something costly .. even this is way too much for second rig ...

    my comp specs ...

    pentium 4 3.2 ghz prescott revision e0 - @ 4 ghz -- overclocked
    asus P4P 800 E DELUXE intel 865 pe chipset mobo
    1 gb transcend ddr 400 ram - 256x 4
    xfx 6600 gt 256 mb agp 8x card --
    creative sound blaster live 24 bit sound card
    and inspire 6700 speakers
    pinnacle pctv plus tv tuner card
    300 gb seagate sata 2
    200 gb seagate sata 1
    benq dw 1640 - dvd writer
    lite on shm 165p6s -dvd writer
    lite on 16p9s - dvd rom
    sony floppy

    currently using powersafe 400 w psu ..

    my card runs at 500-950 .. core -memory

    i want to oc it somewhere upto 575-1100 - 24/7 also cpu at 3.8- 4 ghz ..

    hence need a good psu ..

    again this is my secondary rig ...
     
  9. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    The PSU was not the problem .. the user was. ..

    Yes yes yes .. u can add up since ur getting dedicated rails dodo ... the PSU already has dedicated rail so why would i add up to "assume" a single 12V rail .. ir really some a**wipe ...

    Also .. fi the SP2.0 500W didn't power ur X1900XTX then the card is bad.. .. hell a friend uses a X1900XTX on a 430W SP2.0 PSU ... .. infact he used my 350W PSU for a few days before making his purchase ....

    And the calculations ain't that easy for multi railed PSU .. the power is distributed in both the rails parallely ... so u must calculate accordingly .. where u'll have to consider all the output .. which would give the total output to be ~480W ... and not 300W ... u can't sum up the wattage of the PSU's for diff. rails ..

    @yogi7272 : Antec SP2.0 500W would be more than enough ...
     
  10. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    In a dual rail PSU, rail 1 is supposed power the Mobo and Processor and rail 2 to other components. Can somebody explain how, since we are still using the same connectors? Is it that the 24 pin connector and the 4 pin one supply Rail 1, and Rail 2 is supplied by molex/SATA?

    I had asked this in this forum long back, but nobody responded. Now that the dicussion is regarding dual rails, I hope somebody will.
     
  11. cyberzook

    cyberzook New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    My rig:
    Intel 2.4 prescott
    865GBF
    2 x 256 MB RAM
    1 combo
    1 cd writer
    1 dvd writer
    1 80 GB PATA seagate

    will buy 6600 GT in the next few days.
    is antec sp 2 350 W sufficient?
    I used a power calculator & found my system load to be 312 W.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    yogi7272

    yogi7272 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    vashi, navi mumbai
    bit off topic .. but instead of 6600 gt go for 7600 gt ... yes its out on agp platform .. leadtek has it .. 6600 gt suffers big time playing fear and oblivion ..

    ok .. hows about this cooler master eXtreme Power 600W -- getting it very cheap . has dual rail with 18 amp each .. check this link ...

    http://www.coolermaster-europe.com/...CAP&other_title=RP-600-PCAPeXtreme Power 600W

    someone pls ..
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2006
  13. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp

    Antec SP500 may do for you but is not that much recommended imo. Consider cooler master igreen 500 and antec NeoHE 430.

    Antec SP500 has a max power of 300 watts on the +12va lines which comes out to be 25A @ 25C. Since your temp may not be so low, so your A may be even lower. Even I had initially thought that a 500 watts psu could power radeon x1900xtx, but it couldn't. Many people who know dozens more than anybody else over here told me this and I logically understood. Ask Chaos if you still have doubts.

    If you are already getting 312watts that too without surge compensation and decrease in effieciency then I don't exactly advise you to go for it.
    1) 350 antec sp2 must be givign peak output 320-340 watts @ 25A.
    practically your peak output may be around 310-340watts, even if you do get a min continous of 300 watts, that is still slightly lower than what you need. And if your psu is old then its wattage may be even lower, thus get antec neohe 380 instead.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    yogi7272

    yogi7272 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    vashi, navi mumbai
    I got cooler master extreme power 600 w psu for 3600 rs ..

    working fine .. this thing has dual 12 v rail each with 18 amps ..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page