An Orkut Community Puts Google India in Trouble

freakitude

Orkut, one of the most popular social networking website in India, could put Google in some legal trouble soon for a particular orkut community [screenshot below]

:mad:
*photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3709/485/1600/burning-tricolor.jpg
The Orkut group in question (We hate India) , which has 100+ members mostly from Pakistan, shows a bunch of people burning the Indian Flag, something that has been taken very seriously an Indian court.

Since Orkut is owned by Google, the court has asked the state government to issue a notice to Google for alleged spread of hatred about India. The case is likely to come up next month.

Deep said:
Orkut or google should have a representative in each country handling these kind of stuff and these kind of things should be stopped immidiately after creation.
:cool:
Totally agree....

Source: DI

47shailesh

Security Exp
orkut is supported by google not owned by it... Orkut was created by orkut working in google by utilising 80-20 rule in google so its not google who is solely responsible....BUT stil the matter is serious...

spiderman

i think there is no use of orkut community. it is of total waste of time. only some idle brain users who don't know the real use of internet go to such idle sites

hemant_mathur

-- No Easter Eggs here --
That community has been there for some time now .. i get so many msgs and email urging to report that community as bogus (which i have, sso have numerous other people) but nothing has been done so far.

there r many kinds of Hater Group mostly in US and Europe . in the broad sense 'we hate india ' is also a hater group and nothing else . go to California Association for Human Relations Organizations (CAHRO) 's site and u will get a lot info about these kind of groups . I will see how an indian court handle this as hater's r legal in some part of the planet . good good good .

king007

I posted about this community on this forum some days back so that all members can report it as bogus, but with no intimation from modz/admin my post was deleted??? Can some mod respond why it was deleted???

Google requires atleast 1000 people reporting it as "Bogus" then they remove the particular community...

Good that some good person filed a PIL and the Court has issued an order to the Govt. Hope the Govt takes tough action against Google to make sure that they delete all such commnunities which spread hatred towards India.

*economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/2136967.cms

orkut band karo ... orkut hai hai.... orkut nahi chahiye .... orkut hatao .... orkut band karo ... pakistan and orkut !@#$%&***((&$#%

xenkatesh

Bewitched!
so sad :( people using communites for these purposes.. :( :(

Google requires atleast 1000 people reporting it as "Bogus" then they remove the particular community... [\quote]

dude.. we are 15,704 out of that atleast 20% ppl whil have orkut account.. believe me.. we call together can report abt that community and lets see what happens.. what do you say guys??

sabret00the

mAV3 said:
orkut band karo ... orkut hai hai.... orkut nahi chahiye .... orkut hatao .... orkut band karo ... pakistan and orkut !@#$%&***((&$#%

Guys,
1stly I dont understand hw does orkut turn out to be the evil out here.If there's a hate community the community is generally deleted with a few days of forming it.

2ndly I love my country but I being an old orkut user wud like to point out that this is nothing but stupid propoganda.There are probably as many hate groups created by people not only Indians against Pakistan as well.

3rdly if some of u have never had a chance to be in orkut or if some of u guys have no friends(i mean loners) unlike me then may be orkut might seem stupid to u.But for a guy like me who has frnds and relatives all around the world orkut is one of the best means for me to keep in touch with them and make the world a much smaller place.

4thly I have always found orkut to be a useful tool to keep in touch with my frnds and relatives and have never found myself interested in any such nuisance as stupid "hate groups" and by the way the community probably has been deleted by now.
***No offence guys nothing personal.....just that I love orkut and think it was created with very beautiful idea of linking frnds not in touch and bringing like minded people close***

king007

ramu said:
Why dont we start a community something like...
" Pakistan ki G*nd Maro " or Pakistan g*ndu"
Then what would be the difference be between us and them. Just because they do Cheap things does not mean we follow them.

I donno why I feel that this community is not being removed by Orkut as I am damn sure that it was reported as "Bogus" more than 1000 times as its been around for quite sometime now, I myself reported it atleast 15 days back. Govt has to pressurise google to take it offline asp...

Some MOD plz answer to the question asked by me in post #9 of this thread.

satyamy

Alive Again...
Just Read today's Hindustan Times Front Page (Bottom)
That's Good
*img90.imageshack.us/img90/3451/orkutnewsnh8.th.jpg

Vyasram

The pWnster
there are hundreds of sites/communities which wud be spreading hatred abt india or any other country , and everyone has the right to express themselves , u beleive them - believe them, else - ignore them. simple as that.

JGuru

I think Google should maintain proper Code of Conduct for it's ORKUT members.
Google has already received a order from Federal court to disclose names,
personal data & IP addresses of the cetain members who are misusing ORKUT
with racism, child-pornography etc., Surely this is not the proper way to admininster ORKUT!!!

Kiran.dks

Considering such a sensitive issue, Orkut should have removed that group just like our moderators do in this forum. Are the moderators sleeping in orkut? Also Orkut is flooded with Nudity. Since it has been long time around with no actions taken...I think there is enough reason to be banned.