1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

AMD64 problems

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by LordDJ, Jan 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LordDJ

    LordDJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    My frined tells me some apps wont run on the AMD 64 processor. Also there are problems of system crashing and rebooting. Any thoughts on it?? :roll:
     
  2. invisible

    invisible Guest

    Your friend sucks.
     
  3. phatratt

    phatratt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mysore
    get u'rself a new friend :lol: AMD 64 is backward compatible with older applications.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    LordDJ

    LordDJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    sure does! Told him AMD rocks. But he wouldn't believe me. Just wanted some more ppl to back me up :twisted: Thanks folks!
     
  5. Sankalp

    Sankalp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Smewhere b/w heaven and hell
    AMD Athlon is backward compatible and u can run 32bit applications on it too but i am not too sure abt it supporting 16 bit applications. Ne1 got ne idea???
     
  6. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think wat ur friend was reffering to the older version
    Athlon XP
    known for their overheating issues and all
    but the current crop
    Athlon64's run cooler than their intel counterparts
    and are the best in the market
     
  7. DJ AmaZe

    DJ AmaZe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    boot.ini
    True .. AMD's athlon 64 series processors which runs on Venice Core are cooler than intel's p4s
     
  8. invisible

    invisible Guest

    Hey athlon XP processors are also cooler man.

    That guy might be referring to the old AMD K6 processors.They were hotter due to poor CPU fan provided by AMD.

    where as at that time Intel CPU fan was much more compact in design and could cool the processor better.Thats why in the olden days people dint prefer AMD.


    But now actually AMD CPUs are much cooler to Intel CPUs.
     
  9. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago

    tell ur friend to tell u the name of atleast one app......

    wht should we argue when we know he will never be able to find one....
     
  10. mohit

    mohit The Hardware Labs

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raipur, India.
    maybe he was trying to tell u that apps will have a compatibility issue with Windows XP X64 version. maybe he thought amd 64 means windows 64 too. tell him u can run amd on windows X32 too.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page