AM2 to use DDRII 1066?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by Kniwor, Mar 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
  2. overdose_14

    overdose_14 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Internet
    Intel cannot compete with AMD
    :!: AMD Always on top :!:
     
  3. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    amd is value for money
    intel takes ur hard earned money for brand name
     
  4. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    guys if you have any stats about the market share of AMD:mrgreen: vs intel:evil: for this year and the year before the 64bit version was released then please post it.
    thanks
     
  5. blackleopard92

    blackleopard92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seems you don't know it well.
    Actually reports suggest that AMD M2 isn't fast enough.
    only giving 1-5% increase in speed.
    Many reason it as AMD has too low clock speed to Use high bandiwidth of DDR2.
    In fact While Older Species utilized 80% of theoritical bandwith, AM2 only utilizes 50%. Simply b/s it is not fast
    enough.

    Seems like Intel has won the batle with Conoroe.
    (Hard words for AMD fans like me)
    Anyway, AMD says that it will have major core revisions in 2007.Maybe some hope next year.
     
  6. blackleopard92

    blackleopard92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are poorly informed.
    Intel, due to large no of FAB plants is planning to make Dual cores so cheap
    (Starting price equivalent to AMD 3000+) that you will bite your fingers off.

    In fact the reason that AMD Dual core chips cost so much is that the have a single FAB plant, hence Cost of making a Dual core is roughly equivalent to cost of producing 2 single cores.

    The good news is that AMD has opened up a new FAB plant, which will bring down cost of AMD x2 a lot. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page