1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

About AMD processor.

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by parimal_xp2003, Feb 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. parimal_xp2003

    parimal_xp2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am well known about Intel processor. The processors of Intel are rated for their clocking speed like 2.0Ghz, 2.4Ghz ect.
    But I am confuse in AMD. How they attech the number with processor. For example what AMD 3000+ means? Is it 3Ghz processot? 32 bit or 64 bit?
    I heared about AMD athlon xp , AMD sampson , AMD 3000+ , 3200+ ,3500+.
    How they are different from each other? Which one is better for gaming? My range for (processot + Mobo) is 12000.
     
  2. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah this confusing at times

    check the AMD sit for clock speeds
    if i remember athlon64 3000+ is like 1.8ghz
    but it does match Intel 3.0ghz in terms of performance
    due to superior architechture
    for the 12k the best combination would be
    AMD athlon64 3000+ (venice core) 6.5k
    MSI rs480m2-il - 4.5k
     
  3. ashnik

    ashnik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    AMD cpus take lesser no. of clock cycles for same calculation as that of Intel cpus. That's why AMD remain cool, consume less power and cost less.
     
  4. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    As far as I know the numbers for AMD such as 3000+ indicated that the processor is able to perform equivalent to a processor running @ 3GHz or more. By the way if its written AMD Athlon64, the 64 means that it is a 64-bit processor.
    Go to this link and u will be able get more details: http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/desktop/
     
  5. aadipa

    aadipa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palghar, Mumbai
  6. OP
    OP
    parimal_xp2003

    parimal_xp2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks to you all. The links provided by john_the_ultimate & aadipa are fantastic.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page