1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

A problem when I connect to Internet

Discussion in 'Internet & WWW' started by ramprasad, Dec 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ramprasad

    ramprasad New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    00-1D-7D-5A-34-2E
    Hi All
    I run a P4, 1.6GHz, 40GB HDD, an LG DVD, and CD-RW.... machine running on Windows 2000 SP4... The problem is that whwnever i connect to the net, the system issues a message after 5 mins or so that "svchost.exe has performed an ilegal opearion and an error log has been created". After that I am not able to use my context menu(right click menu) and not open the link in a new window.............

    Please help to solve it and Thanx in Advance........

    Regards,
    Ramprasad
     
  2. icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    this could be a virus related issue. Which Antivirus do you have ? And since this happens mainly when the internet connection happens, I def think this could be a trojan. If you dont have an AV I suggest you get one ASAP. Tyr Kaspersky. Its very good.
     
  3. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Hmmm .. Have a look at this page .. ...

    Install SP2 .. it will patch most recent vulnerabilities .. I think you have got Blaster virus ...
     
  4. OP
    OP
    ramprasad

    ramprasad New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    00-1D-7D-5A-34-2E
    Hi
    I use Norton AV 2003.........with the latest updates as possible.....and one more problem.....I am able to connect to the NAV server and it says that u"Your definitions are updated" and I still see the old date.......in my status..... But I see no virus alerts or something........
     
  5. icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    SP2 for Windows 2000 ? :?: :?: :?: The guy has Windows 2000 with Sp4 neways. So I dont see that as an issue. I def think it would be the blaster virus. I have no idea why Norton behaves like that. I would suggest gettin rid of Norton and getting Kaspersky AV. Its much better.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page