a Newbie's queries about Ubuntu........

Status
Not open for further replies.

j1n M@tt

Cyborg Agent
I'm starting this thread as I'm new to the Linux world ,and I decided to start with Ubuntu as my first GNU/Linux destro. I made this decision b'coz there r a number of Ubuntu users and fans in Td forum who I hope can help me out with my efforts to become a Linux user. I will be posting all my queries regarding Ubuntu destro here.

To start with, today I tried Ubuntu 7.10 bootable DVD which I got sometime ago from a magazine.

First I want to know the following:

• If I use Ubuntu as a Bootable OS instead of intalling, wat r the limitations?? Can I install packages onto my windows NTFS partitions, save user settings, etc
  • How can I configure my BSNL WLL net connection b'coz it uses USB dial-up LG modem which needs drivers?
  • Today I ordered Ubuntu CD from Ubuntu website. But I think the numbers of appllications and multimedia codes, etc. available with dat will be limited. Where can I order for a DVD version with full Packages so dat I don't want to dl those from internet later.

Thanks in advance.
NB: All noobs like me r invited to post their Ubuntu queries here, which may help me and others who read this thread.

Last edited:

praka123

left this forum longback
well,you can use livecd to connect to internet,browse etc in normal cases.

broadband through USB is least supported in Ubuntu.but ,with livecd you can boot and try the output of "lsusb" in a terminal(Applications>Accessories>Terminal) to see whether it is supported.

there are few drivers available for some usb modems.
the problem is ,manufacturers dont care to support Linux by opening the specifications.the hackers have to make driver modules/source using reverse engineering.

FilledVoid

Who stole my Alpaca!