A few ubuntu questions.

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by RCuber, Apr 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Hi guys,today i finally decided to use linux after a long time :). I have a ubuntu 5.10 live cd and im posting this using it . I have a few quesions.

    1. Will my configurations be save onto the disc? its no problem for me if ubuntu wants to use some hard dsc space.

    2. can it detect my two NTFS and two fat32 partitions automatically?

    3. can i install softwares ( yes im using a original live cd).I downloaded opera 8.54 (file name opera_8.54-20060330.6-shared-qt_en_etch_i386.deb) but i cant install this .the archive manager opens and tells that it cannot handle this format. :(

    4. can the setting be saved onto my pendrive so that ubuntu can retrive it later

    any other suggessions also please. :)

    charan
     
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    1) & 4) I am not sure but I think you cannot. Still make sure with someone else.
    2) It won't auto detect you will have to mount them manually.
    3) AFAIK you can't install software even temporarily cause I failed to do so myself.
    If you really want all this then stick with puppy linux, It provides all the above facilities. And Knoppix provides most of them also.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    thanks tech , ill experiment a lill more and come back :).
     
  4. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    3)i think u can install softwares temporarilly because earlier when i used it i was able to install sify BB dialer
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page