6600GT problem !!! HELP

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by shovik, Apr 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shovik

    shovik Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hooghly
    I have a 865GBF intel original board, 1GB RAM, 2.4GHz Processor, 450Watts of power. I have recently bought a XFX 6600GT 256MB graphics card. I did a clean install of Windows XP and installed the lates 81.98Forceware drivers from Nvidia and DirectX 9.0c.

    The problem is that whenever I try to play NFS-mostwanted or NFS-underground and a few other games after sometime of gameplay the pc freezes and I have no other way left either than to restart the PC.

    I am stuck with this problem and have no idea what should I do. Please help me out from this problem....
     
  2. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    most likely a heating issue.Make sure your cabinet is adequately ventilated.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    shovik

    shovik Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hooghly
    not solved !!!

    I have pretty wel ventilated cabinet and moreover when ever I play games I open the sliders of the cabinet. Plsss help me....
     
  4. john_the_ultimate

    john_the_ultimate No pain....No gain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    What are the tempertaures?
    If fine then see for loose connection data/power.
    Reinstall driver. Just a few suggestion.
     
  5. mayanksharma

    mayanksharma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida/NCR
    Hmmm...
    You can check out following things:-

    1.There could be a lack of supply voltage to ur card. So,make sure that you have a very good PSU from branded companies like Coolermaster or Antec or Thermaltake.
    2.Now for the moment of change, just clean your whole cabinet for sure. ok?
    3.Now tell me have you overclocked your graphics card?
    If yes, then try changing it to defaults.
    4.Make sure that, you have'nt damaged card, by chance. Please thoroughly check the card's surface.
    5.And finally,you can try some cooling units for your GPU, like Zalman VF900 or Arctic NV silencer!
     
  6. OP
    OP
    shovik

    shovik Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hooghly
    checked it but to no use!!

    I have an e-life 450Watt PSU. The temperature on the driver management console says the shutdown temperature to be 145 degrees and my my current gpu temperature remains about 59-63 degrees. I haven't overclocked my card, its running on default settings.

    But still I don't have any clue on why this is happening.....
     
  7. mayanksharma

    mayanksharma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida/NCR
    hmmm..
    I got the same problem, with my older 6600 too. Finally sent it to get replaced.
    You can do one thing, Try uninstalling all of the dirvers again and then do a fresh install again.
    And please tell me the power at +12V rail of your PSU, which is attached to your graphics card?
    And do remember to set the clockings in 3D rather than 2D.
     
  8. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Hey ... did u plugin the molex into the card ?? the card requires an additional molex power supply ...
     
  9. OP
    OP
    shovik

    shovik Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hooghly
    trying !!!!!!!!!!

    My 6600GT is the AGP version card and it has only option for a power connector and not the molex connector u refered to. The temperature is stable but still it freezes. But anyways thanx my friends for all your kind suggestion....
     
  10. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure the drivers are WHQL certified.And also check that is the GPU overclocked by the drivers.
     
  11. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    Re: trying !!!!!!!!!!

    molex connector = power connector
     
  12. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Latest drivers are 84.21 and not 81.98 (dunno why we got these in digit cd)
    But i dont think thats the major issue.
    Since u havent overclocked( which is the main reason behind such hangs) it seems that ur CARD is faulty. Get it replaced.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page