1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

4 x 256 or 2 x 512??

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by rohan, Apr 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rohan

    rohan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I've heard that using 2 or 4 chips give better performance than using a single chip. So is 4 x 256 better than 2 x 512??
     
  2. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    yes 2 sticks can provide dual advantage when they are of same feature(frequency etc.)
    Can't say about using 4 sticks but make sure if you use 4 X 256, then you won't be left for any future upgradation.
    Choose wisely.
    Wait till other members reply.
     
  3. nil_3

    nil_3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    ashfame wrote: "2 sticks can provide dual advantage when they are of same feature".
    Is it true? In what sense? Anybody please explain.

    I think the only advantage is that if any one of you RAM stick gets corrupt, you can still be able to sustain with the other stick.
     
  4. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    2 is better than 4.....

    well if u have a dual channel setup.... 2 will give best performance...

    if not... 1 stick or 2 stick is all the same...

    4 is a no-no some boards have probs running all the 4 at full speed...
    2 is the best whatever setup u have
     
  5. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Depends on the motherboard config....the max memory it supports.
    If it is 512 MB and 4 slots r available, then i wud go for 2x512 which can later be upgraded to 4x512 <<and i m very sure there isnt any performance difference, 4 DIMM's would generate more heat as well>>
     
  6. nil_3

    nil_3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    Well, my motherboard supports only DDR2 memory(Intel 945GNT) and I have one RAM stick of 1GB. Should I have to purchase another 1GB memory-stick to enhance performance?
     
  7. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Two similar Ram sticks will give the advantage of "dual channel" but only in case of motherbords supporting dual channel memory, that also if inserted in the proper slots.

    In case of 4 sticks instead of 2 in Mobos like Nforce4, and Nforce4 Ultra, even if all the modules are similar and of 400 MHz, it will operate at 333 MHz, thus resulting in reduction of perfrmance, as far as I know.

    Pl correct if I am wrong.
     
  8. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    if there any efect that will be very marginal... but yes... 4 stick... one ram goes down or even 2 goes down at a time, then u will have 2 other still working... atleast system will run, but with one stick system will be down unless or untiull the vendor replaces the RAM...

    anyway for me... I allways go for 1stick... coz simply it is cheaper than 2 or 4.... :)
     
  9. pranshu

    pranshu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would recommend to go for a single chip for two reasons. First, you will have a DIMM empty, thereby leaving a scope to upgrade in future and secondly to avoid any conflicts between the two chips.
     
  10. bukaida

    bukaida New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    KOLKATA
    The 2 X 512 will have the following advantages--

    1. Amount of memory will be same but will take lesser space inside the cabinet.

    2. Compatibility issue will be minimum.

    3. Power consumption will be less.

    4. Scope for future upgradation( if the same freq will available in future).

    But a single 1GB is not sugessted as u will not be able to use the dual channel.
     
  11. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    yeah..... dual channel needs 2 sticks..
     
  12. hafees

    hafees New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    For dual channel support you need to install memory in pairs. Check whether ur motherboard supports Dual channel memory and if yes, go for 512 X2. There is no reason to buy 4 X 256. definitely 512 X 2 will be faster & efficient than 256 X 4. We also need to consider the power consumption of 4 RAMS and if ur SMPS can't provide enough power, then the clock speed will be decreased.
     
  13. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    Alright, but will you pl explain how the SMPS will affect the clock speed ?
     
  14. Akhil Jain

    Akhil Jain New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rohtak
    if ur motherboard supports dual channel support only then u will be benefitted

    and only 2 stics can be in dual mode ... so for u 512 x 2 will work on dual channel mode
    u will see on ur motherboard there are 4 ram slots
    2 slots of same colour and after a gap 2 slots of different colours
    put the 2 sticks in different colour slots and restart ur pc
    configure in bios dual channel mode supported
    u r done
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page