Sapphire HD 6950 1GB unlocked to HD 6970 1GB!

Discussion in 'Graphic cards' started by Jaskanwar Singh, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. Jaskanwar Singh

    Jaskanwar Singh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amritsar
    Card Used/Needed -
    [​IMG]
    SAPPHIRE HD 6950 1GB GDDR5
    SAPPHIRE HD 6950 2GB GDDR5
    SAPPHIRE HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 Dirt3 Edition


    Stock Settings (I am using a 1GB version) -
    [​IMG]

    A Little Story Behind -
    I had overclocked my card to 900/1275 and was going to overvolt to get further. Before that i decided to read some user experiences at newegg. Saw this -
    So thats how the fun began. :D

    How to Unlock -
    1. You need to have a Sapphire HD6950 with a dual fan cooler. 1GB or 2GB both have good chance of unlocking.
    2. Make sure the card is running at stock 800/1250.
    3. Turn off the system, open the cabinet side panel and locate the BIOS Switch on the card. Its near crossfire bridge connector.
    4. Flip the switch towards right.
    5. Reboot.
    6. Open GPU-Z and you shall see this hopefully -
    [​IMG]
    7. Now you can overclock it to 880/1375 (the HD6970 speeds) (Note - Every card is different. Some cards may need overvolting to get to 880/1375. Overclock at your own risk)

    My Overclocking Update -
    [​IMG]
    This is at Stock Volt.

    Temps during BC2 (UPRIVER) -
    [​IMG]

    Benchmark Comparisons -
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    UNIGINE -
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011
    ico likes this.
  2. rajan1311

    rajan1311 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    awesome stuff mate... wonder why this went unnoticed for so long... pic of the BIOS switch would help some members i think..
     
  3. OP
    Jaskanwar Singh

    Jaskanwar Singh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amritsar
    thanks rajan.
    bios switch is too small buddy. difficult to get good pic. tried.
     
  4. kapilove77

    kapilove77 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Delhi
    any chance for me to unlock?
     
  5. Skud

    Skud Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    10 light years away
    This is killer! Some benchmarks would be helpful. :doublethumb:

    @kapilove77: MSI had released a BIOS and instructions to unlock the shaders earlier for that card. Google it. ;)
     
  6. Sarath

    Sarath iDota

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, Visakhapatnam, Abu Dhabi
    Haha 6970 users burn in hell :))

    Oh wait! :x

    On a serious note nice little tutorial up there. i wish there was such a trick for 6970 users too but nvm :?
     
  7. OP
    Jaskanwar Singh

    Jaskanwar Singh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amritsar
    benches coming soon skud. let me oc first ;-)

    thanks sarath. :)

    UPDATE -

    now its a full 6970 (except less vram) -
    [​IMG]

    temps during BC2 (UPRIVER) -
    [​IMG]

    will post unigine and 3dmark11 tomorrow.

    no voltage tweaking done!
     
  8. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,825
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
    @jassy, congo man. free gift. lucky :)
     
  9. Skud

    Skud Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    10 light years away
    What about noise? I have read this card is noisier under load (just like other dual fan cards). Even my single fan's noise is audible at 50% and above in winter when the ceiling fan doesn't spin. ;)
     
  10. mithun_mrg

    mithun_mrg Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Assam
    ^^ i think the noise even if it will be during gaming which is easily overtaken by the speakers/heaphones u use
    congrats jas
     
  11. OP
    Jaskanwar Singh

    Jaskanwar Singh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amritsar
    @sammy
    yeah, thanks buddy :)

    @skud
    yes card becomes noisy with high fan profiles. i used trixx fan bar to test this.
    but i use headphones, so not a problem.

    and we cant give away oc due to noise ;-)

    @mithun_mrg
    right. and thanks buddy :)


    Comparisons-

    3D mark 11 -

    800/1250 (1408 shaders) - 4804
    [​IMG]

    900/1250 (1408 shaders) - 5287
    [​IMG]

    800/1250 (1536 shaders) - 4958
    [​IMG]

    880/1375 (1536 shaders) - 5431
    [​IMG]

    Unigine -

    800/1250 (1408 shaders) -
    [​IMG]

    880/1375 (1536 shaders) -
    [​IMG]

    changed the 1st post to a little tutorial. ;-)
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011
  12. Skud

    Skud Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    10 light years away
    Yours is the story of luck, getting a 6970 from a 6950 1gb, that too a RMAed one. ;)
     
  13. OP
    Jaskanwar Singh

    Jaskanwar Singh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amritsar
    yup. RMA helped me get this card which has high chance of unlocking. :))
     
  14. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,503
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    nice going mate ... now time to play with HD6970 ;-)
     
  15. Cilus

    Cilus laborare est orare

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7,308
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Jas, superb work buddy. You are becoming pro day by day. Now you got a HD 6970 from your HD 6950. So I don't think you need to puch the card much further.
     
  16. slashragnarok

    slashragnarok New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Does this card have 2 6 pin connectors or 6pin+8 pin?
     
  17. DARK KNIGHT

    DARK KNIGHT The silent Warrior

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delhi
    Jas does we the owners of 6950 have chance to do this . i ask this question bcse we all have different company cards only kapilove have and i have the same company card. can we do this or not . and yes nice oced jas & cilius check Ur spell mistake u did it in a hurry i think edit it .
     
  18. Skud

    Skud Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    10 light years away

    It's answered here:


    Of course, it won't be just a flip of switch, you have to actually flash the BIOS. Else there are scripts to do it automatically. But beware, this might be risky and there's no guarantee. In any case, always backup the original BIOS.
     
  19. d6bmg

    d6bmg BMG ftw!!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    @Jas: pure luck here. ;) Enjoy your unlocked 6950.
     
  20. OP
    Jaskanwar Singh

    Jaskanwar Singh New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amritsar
    thanks TP. :)

    thanks cilus.:)
    yes i am keeping it at 880/1375.

    2 6pin.

    MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III Power Edition Unlocking - Unlocking Guide
    and thanks :)

    thanks. :)
    but these sapphire dual fan versions have high chance on unlocking. check newegg. :wink:
    Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100312-3SR Radeon HD 6950 Dirt3 Edition 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
     

Share This Page