ParrotSec OS Review,Great alternative for kali

TechnoBOY

Padawan
I think, will throw Kali Linux out of business when it comes to hacking from a desktop PC or a laptop/notebook. That operating system is called Parrot Security OS, or "ParrotSec" for short.

While I still like Kali for ARM environments (like the Raspberry Pi) or as a chroot OS on my Android device (I will make a tutorial on that in the future), I still believe none of you should choose Kali blindly just because most of the tutorials on here are written for it.

While Kali has let me down a few times (the many bugs in Kali 2.0, for example...), ParrotSec hasn't failed me yet. I've been using it for about 6 months now, and I only encountered one bug in that entire time, which was the display manager not working after a system upgrade.

Yesterday, ParrotSec 2.0 (nicknamed "Helium") has been released, as a reaction to Kali 2.0. Kali 2.0 felt a bit rushed to me and had quite a few bugs, I didn't encounter a bug with ParrotSec 2.0 yet. So I think that now is the right time to make a series on ParrotSec and it's features.
*img.wonderhowto.com/img/37/47/63577722009716/0/parrotsec-part-1-introduction.w654.jpg

Image via parrotsec.org
Who Can Use ParrotSec?

ParrotSec is a very friendly pentesting distro and it is really suited for everyone! For the newbie, there is the cool theme and many automated features. The more experienced will love to have some of the must-have tools pre-installed with the OS, and many more available through the repositories. But it is also suitable for everyday use because it is closely based on Debian 8.

The Specs & Features

ParrotSec has a custom made Linux 4.1 kernel and is based on Debian 8. It uses the MATE dekstop environment, and "lightdm" as it's display manager. ParrotSec also comes with it's own theme.

That's it for the specifications of the OS, let's have a look at what features it has that Kali DOESN'T have!