no signal on monitor

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by sanoob.tv, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. sanoob.tv

    sanoob.tv Dr.gB

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    koottanad,kerela
    i was installin windows 7 on my freinds machine,it asked for some drivers in order to continue installation,i went to get my mobo cd,when i returned it was all gone,(blank screen)

    i restarted the system,and the monitor displayed "no signal",
    in the cpu all the fans are spinning,can hear the sound from hdd and al,but no output

    i tried many things,resetting bios by cmos jumper and bios battery,changing rams,etc

    the one thing i noticed was,usually the led on the cabinent is blue and red(busy)
    bt now its only red

    any help on this?
     
  2. Ishu Gupta

    Ishu Gupta Manchester United

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Sounds obvious but did you check the monitor cable?
    Do you have a graphic card?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sanoob.tv

    sanoob.tv Dr.gB

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    koottanad,kerela
    i checked the cable,it works fine,n i dnt have a graphics card
     
  4. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Try to reinstall the OS.
     
  5. insaneYLN

    insaneYLN Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How old is the motherboard?

    Usually no-display issue is attributed to a problem either with the motherboard or processor or memory (RAM).

    Perhaps i am wrong, thus, kindly await the expertise of other renowned members.
    :smile:
     
  6. thetechfreak

    thetechfreak .

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,695
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Properly check connections on the back of CPU
     
  7. arpanmukherjee1

    arpanmukherjee1 XLr8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    these r also related to HDD.

    remove HDD and see if bios screen shows up.
     
  8. thetechfreak

    thetechfreak .

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,695
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    refit you ram properly,hdd cable
     
  9. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,825
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
    is the OS legit? i doubt. or were you trying to install from other DVD?

    if nothing works, install XP & than upgrade to Win7.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    sanoob.tv

    sanoob.tv Dr.gB

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    koottanad,kerela
    well i tried all that bt no use
    im assuming the problem is with the mobo

    today when i turned on the cpu,it worked fine at first,bt suddenly after some time the system turned off again(not shutdown);and now its having the same problem "no signal" on the monitor

    is it a virus?or some mobo problems?
     
  11. thetechfreak

    thetechfreak .

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,695
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I think motherboard and overheating problem.
     
  12. arpanmukherjee1

    arpanmukherjee1 XLr8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^ possible. clean cabinet and cpu+chipset fins with vaccume
     
  13. mkgupta64

    mkgupta64 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida, India
    Even Im facing the same problem since quite some time.

    Not even able to enter into BIOS.

    checked everything except my RAM & CMOS Battery. Cud it be related to either of these two? Is der anyway by which i can check my RAM & battery while it is still installed ? I dnt hv access to other PC which support my DDR 1GB RAM.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    sanoob.tv

    sanoob.tv Dr.gB

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    koottanad,kerela
    i hope its the heating problem,

    k,i tried to turn on the system before two hours bt it didnt seemed to work,
    the power is k,fans spinning,dvd rw working(open and close),

    bt the problem is it didnt even show bios screen,nothing comes on the monitor except the"no signal";and only the busy led(red light) on the cabinet is glowing....

    k,i tried to turn on the system before two hours bt it didnt seemed to work,
    the power is k,fans spinning,dvd rw working(open and close),

    bt the problem is it didnt even show bios screen,nothing comes on the monitor except the"no signal";and only the busy led(red light) on the cabinet is glowing....
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011
  15. arpanmukherjee1

    arpanmukherjee1 XLr8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is ur hdd still connected ?

    if yes. disconnect it and reboot
     
  16. d3p

    d3p PowerHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Try this.
    1. Get a new Thermal Compound or Thermal Paste.
    2. Remove the Processor & clean the surface of the Heat Sink & processor.
    3. Apply Thermal Paste on the Processor & hook up the fan.
    4. Check the connections on the MB & if booting properly then go to the BIOS.
    5. Check whether the HDD is detected or not.
    6. If everything is fine then it the time to change your Power Supply [SMPS].

    Check & let us know.
     
  17. mkgupta64

    mkgupta64 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida, India
    I hv tried Booting without connecting Hard disk also bt the same pblm, motherboard light is ON, CPU front facing indication Green alws on, Red keeps blinking.

    Even tried restoring my BIOS, by loading it to a pen drive n then tried booting.. but again, nothing happened.

    Any help guys ??
     
  18. thetechfreak

    thetechfreak .

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,695
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    monitor cable trouble maybe.properly connect pins.

    Use different monitor.
     
  19. arpanmukherjee1

    arpanmukherjee1 XLr8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    go back to basics.

    remove everything. only mobo+CPU + GPU only if no IGP

    the mobo speaker should generate 4-5 beeps at regular interval

    if this happens then put in single ram.

    if bios shows up let sytem on for 1-2 min

    then put in hdd

    if os loads put in GPU.

    i do this in case when i dont know which component is causing prob.
     
  20. mkgupta64

    mkgupta64 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida, India
    Tried the Basics also..

    Connected only Mobo + Processor n tried booting. Mobo green light is ON but no sound from internal speaker..

    Does it mean, Mobo is out of service??

    Anyway, its Intel 865 GBF + P4, a quite old config and no support avl on net either.

    Help me guys.
     

Share This Page