No display ASUS P8Z68 V PRO

Discussion in 'CPU / Motherboards' started by slashragnarok, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. slashragnarok

    slashragnarok New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I just assembled my new system and hooked everything up. Now I don't get any display both on VGA and DVI. No boot screen nothing. :(
     
  2. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Are the CPU and GPU/PSU fans spinning up.
     
  3. Tenida

    Tenida Gadget Freak

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    You are not getting display on both onboard vga and hd6970?
     
  4. OP
    slashragnarok

    slashragnarok New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    All fans spinning. Just no display. I'm not talking about the Graphics card display. Only the onboard display.

    One more thing. I just tried pulling out the RAM and booting the PC up. No beeps, no display coming. Just fans spinning and LEDs lit up on mobo and cabinet.
     
  5. Tenida

    Tenida Gadget Freak

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    Connect the dvi cable of ur monitor to your graphics card port.See if the display is coming or not.
     
  6. OP
    slashragnarok

    slashragnarok New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I'm already using the video card in on PC. I'm testing the other PC. I don't understand why the onboard graphics won't show up. All fans spinning. All leds on. CPU led. Optical disk drive working. Could it be because of RAM failure?

    Sorry. Problem fixed.
     
  7. MegaMind

    MegaMind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,243
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perambalur, TN
    ^^Wat was the prob.?
     
  8. tkin

    tkin Back to school!!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    10,761
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, India
    I guess he initiated the pci/peg adapter or used auto select in bios display out settings, auto mode selects pci gfx i.e the 6970 in his case, but he connected the adapter to the mobo display out.
     
  9. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    If the GPU is used, the onboard gets disabled.
     
  10. mukherjee

    mukherjee Treatment in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Amar shohor Kolkata
    U need to set the "Initiate Graphics adapter As Onboard"...is set to PCIE by default imo...
     
  11. MegaMind

    MegaMind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,243
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perambalur, TN
    Guys, Off topic : If Virtue is enabled, Will the power consumption in GPU idle be reduced?
     
  12. tkin

    tkin Back to school!!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    10,761
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, India
    Not really, cause virtu cannot turn the gpu off, its still in idle mode consuming electricity.
     
  13. Faun

    Faun Wahahaha~! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,912
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pune/there
    I remember I didn't set the rams properly first time and RAM diagnostic LED was glowing constantly. Good to know the problem is solved.
     
  14. Torch

    Torch New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi I got the very same problem. After assembling my new build system I get:

    1) No POST - VGA LED lights constantly red
    2) No Beep tones (speaker cable is plugged correctly)
    3) No Screen on monitor (no signal, tried VGA and DVI cable on Graphics card
    output)
    4) Monitor works fine with Laptop (tried to extend the display)
    5) Graphics card seats firmly, pins are clean, connected through both 8 + 6 pin connectors form power supply and was tried in both slots
    6) CMOS was cleared through jumper on motherboard
    7) All CPU, Graphics, and Chassis fans fans are spinning
    7) No expansion cards are plugged in
    8) No USB devices plugged in as well

    POST LEDs by start up:

    CPU - Check
    RAM - Check
    VGA - Failure - Lights up red
    Boot Device - Doesn't light up

    Hardware equipment:

    CPU: INTEL i7 2600K
    Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
    Graphics: ASUS Radeon HD 6970/2DI2S/2GD5
    RAM: CORSAIR 16GB (4x4) KIT DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Blue Vengeance XMP
    HDD: WESTERN DIGITAL Caviar Green 3TB 64MB cache SATA III Advanced Format
    DVD: ASUS DRW-24B3LT/BLK/G/AS
    PSU: CORSAIR GS800

    What could be the problem, how did you manage to fix it ?
    Please advise - thank you
     
  15. OP
    slashragnarok

    slashragnarok New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Turns out I forgot to plug in the EATX 12V power. The 8 pin one. All my life I'd been used to just plugging in the 24 pin ATX connector.
     

Share This Page