LG Optimus One or Dell XCD35

Discussion in 'Mobiles and Tablets' started by makjack, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. makjack

    makjack New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, I am really confused between Optimus One and Dell xcd35 as I am getting the xcd35 at about the same price as Optimus one through one of my friends.

    I know that xcd35 has a really great screen, and else all specs is nearly same as Optimus one. Xcd35 has a smaller battery and has 256mb ram(can be unlocked to 512mb). I also need to know if xcd35 has the Adreno200 gpu that is present in the Optimus one.

    Please suggest which of these two is a better phone, if available at the same price.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Don

    Don New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Go for LG Optimus One. Dell phones are rebranded China phones so not worth using them.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    makjack

    makjack New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But I getting am a mobile with same specs and a much greater screen at the same price, so isn't it worth to look into it. Also, I know it is manufactured by ZTE, but does not have any manufacturing defects, so it doesn't matter if its Chinese or any other.
     
  4. Don

    Don New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    if you have no problems it being china phone, its a great deal. Hope that the phone won't cat like other china phones after purchase.
     
  5. k4ce

    k4ce New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, being an O1 owner, I would say go for the Dell XCD35 if you dont mind the battery .. Because the screen resolution is just stunning (not just at that price ... at any price, that resolution can be considered as brilliant) .... it would make reading text so much easier ...

    On a side note, the games would struggle a bit as the processor and GPU (similar to O1) would be forced to render at much higher resolutions ... so demanding games might not work great ...

    And I dont think you should worry about it being made in china ... practically everything is made there ... and this is not rebranded by dell .. dell has subcontracted the building of the phone to a chinese manufacturer (more like how apple does with the iphone) .. you will be backed by Dell's warranty and customer support ... Everybody knows how good that is ...
     
  6. OP
    OP
    makjack

    makjack New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are you sure that the xcd 35 has the same gpu as optimus one?

    Also, do the custom roms available for the orange san francisco work on xcd 35?
     
  7. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,249
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
  8. k4ce

    k4ce New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both use Qualcomm MSM7227 ... So yes, they should be identical ...

    Orange SF roms might not work ... but dont worry, the ROMs will start coming in ... When I bought the O1, there were only Megatron, Void and Prime ... Now there are some 4 more ... so ROMs will come in once the device gets popular ... else you can always cook your own ROM
     
  9. kamal_saran

    kamal_saran android lover

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    ludhiana
    how can dell xcd 35's ram unlocked to 512 mb . Please throw light :)
     
  10. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,249
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
    ZTE Blade have 512Mb ram, so does orange SF i suppose but in Dell XCD 35, its 256Mb. either is a 256Mb fixed or the later is locked due to defects. so some XCD's ram can be unlocked.
     
  11. kamal_saran

    kamal_saran android lover

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    ludhiana
    thanks sam for useful info. So xcd 35's case is similar to phenom's dual core. Unlocking is depends on luck. :)
     
  12. k4ce

    k4ce New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ I doubt it .. more a case of 256mb fixed ... to keep costs down
     
  13. OP
    OP
    makjack

    makjack New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guys, I decided to go for Optimus one. I want to know if BLACK color is present in India or do we only have the BROWN/GRAY one?
     
  14. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,249
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
    yes. looks to be a similar case. just no ACC here.

    fixed for most but some are shipped with 512Mb with 256Mb locked. possible. as ZTE is an OEM, so Dell can ask them manufacture with 256Mb ram.

    so unlocking is a pure luck thing.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    makjack

    makjack New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any place in Delhi where I could get a demo of Dell xcd35???

    I have already used optimus one and really love the look and feel of it. Also, one of my friends said that the xcd35 feels like a cheap phone due to its build quality.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    makjack

    makjack New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anybody tell me where i can get optimus one in delhi for a sub-10k price?
     
  17. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,249
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
    i don't know where but surely not in ''the mobile store''. they'll quote 11.9k. better just visit any local mobile shop & ask the price. if it retails for 10.5k or less, bargain or try some other shop.
     
  18. Don

    Don New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    What's the current pri e of optimus one?
     
  19. sam

    sam Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    13,249
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Guwahati
    10-10.5k. but i got mine for 11.2k. some may take back the useless t-shirt & give 400-500 bucks extra discount.
     
  20. begooddogood

    begooddogood New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both r good but i think lg optimus is good in low price
     

Share This Page