Is my pc infected?

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by ghantaukay, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. ghantaukay

    ghantaukay New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Kaspersky antivirus (fully updated) on my pc with Windows Firewall.Of late I find that my google searchbox has vanished and I did a hijack this scan and am not able to diagnose the problem. Can anyone help me with this problem? I just want to know if my pc is infected and if so how should I go about getting it back on track. Dave
     
  2. q3_abhi

    q3_abhi New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Install Quick Heal Demo to scan your system. It's pretty powerful
     
  3. Harsh Pranami

    Harsh Pranami New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Most probably..no. This might be because of incompatibility issues. Did you install anything just before this problem came out??
     
  4. gameranand

    gameranand Living to Play

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    The Cyclone
    I think that some third party software might have done that during system maintenance.
     
  5. tkin

    tkin Back to school!!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai, India
    Post the hijack this log here.
     
  6. ShankJ

    ShankJ Been There, Done That!!

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    just to be sure your pc is clean you can use the Norton Power eraser..
     
  7. gameranand

    gameranand Living to Play

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    The Cyclone
    I actually haven't used any Norton products because of the price. :p
     
  8. tkin

    tkin Back to school!!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai, India
    And the update size, oh god the update size, on a 512kbps conn. it takes forever, avast on the other hand updates even when running utorrent.
     
  9. gameranand

    gameranand Living to Play

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    The Cyclone
    Exactly. Very small updates, same thing with Avira also. Hardly some MB size. :)
     
  10. ShankJ

    ShankJ Been There, Done That!!

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Norton Power Eraser is an online virus remover and is only 2-3 Mb in size.. Free and very effective.. But it would remove all the patches and cracks as well so be careful when you press "OK" on the remove permanently message..
     
  11. gameranand

    gameranand Living to Play

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    The Cyclone
    Like I said I don't use any Norton Products. Had a bad experience in past and I don't want to. The alternatives are more than enough for me. :)
     
  12. ShankJ

    ShankJ Been There, Done That!!

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Okay, thought you dint use them because of the size of the updates and tendency to slow down system start-up..
     
  13. Harsh Pranami

    Harsh Pranami New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    :+1: to avira. Automatically updates itself even when using GPRS connection. (not even EDGE!!!)
     
  14. anirbandd

    anirbandd Audio Nirvana!! \m/

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,887
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata/Pune
    probably incompatibilty.. install the thing again..

    and KIS is fine. one of the best out there. very small RAM footprint and small updates, max3 MB.
     
  15. gameranand

    gameranand Living to Play

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    The Cyclone
    You see, I have used a hell lot of security softwares and finally got my comfort zone. I won't change it unless I really need to or some miraculous feature is available on some other software free. :)
     
  16. ShankJ

    ShankJ Been There, Done That!!

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Which one are you using at the moment?? I'm currently stuck at Norton Internet Security 2012+Microsoft Security Essential..
     
  17. tkin

    tkin Back to school!!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai, India
    One prayer to follow throughout life, avast avast avast, has a nice ring to it, doesn't it? :D :D
     
  18. gameranand

    gameranand Living to Play

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    The Cyclone
    Currently Avira AV+Comodo Firewall+MLBT.
    Though I also liked Avast AV+Comodo Firewall+MLBT.

    Both the combos are real good. With Avast you won't get those annoying messages to upgrade which are there with Avira. I am also thinking about switching to Avast. :)
     
  19. tkin

    tkin Back to school!!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai, India
    Try it once, avast is fire and forget, its been so long since I had last saw the main window, let alone nags.
     
  20. quicky008

    quicky008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    How about AVG antivirus 2013 free edition?How does it fare in malware detection and removal as compared to other popular security suites like Avast/avira etc?

    I had been using avast 7 for the last couple of months but was compelled to switch to avg recently as the former caused my pc to hang whenever it performed any program update and so I became really frustrated with it-has anyone else experienced the same issue with avast av free edition?
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2013

Share This Page