How to switch graphics between Nvidia & Intel

Discussion in 'Laptops and Netbooks' started by binay00713, May 14, 2011.

  1. binay00713

    binay00713 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BBSR, Orissa
    I just recently bought a ASUS A53SV-SX240R Laptop
    Core i5,6GB RAM,500 GB HDD,Nvidia GT540M 2GB graphics,Windows 7 HB)

    It has both Intel HD graphics & Nvidia Grphics drivers installed.
    When I go to Screen Resolution>Advanced settings>Adapter tab...It shows
    Total Graphics Memory: 1694 MB
    Dediacted graphics Memory :64 MB
    I dont know how to switch graphics betwn integrated intel HD & Nvidia 540M.
    Please help me.....
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
  2. saswat23

    saswat23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3,568
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    As a Graphics Card is installed, so you are most probably running ur system on nVIDIA's graphics. So, there is no point in switching. IMO switching of Graphics is not possible probably.
    Intel's HD Graphics will only work if the GPU is taken out of the lappy, and one will never do that unless the GPU goes bad.
    How much did the lappy cost you BTW..??

    From which shop did you buy..?? One of my friends is also looking for new i5 lappy. So, your info would probably help.
     
  3. OP
    binay00713

    binay00713 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BBSR, Orissa
    NO,this laptop has both nvidia & intel integrated graphics installed...like acer 4820tg
    you can switch betwn these two graphics wid the help of nvidia optimus technology....
    bt i dnt knw how??

    i bought it frm MS asirbad,Sahid nagar,If u want to buy it frm bhubaneswar
    then i think u hav to wait a few days...coz mine was the last piece..

    Contact Asus sales partner --Ritesh(9337524105)..
    tell him my name (binay ku singh)
     
  4. Sarath

    Sarath iDota

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, Visakhapatnam, Abu Dhabi
    I wanted to know the same thing. I read the new nVidia optimus technology lets you switch between dedicated and intergrated gfx without the need for reboot.

    >Are you sure you have one with nVidia optimus technology? If so shouldnt you just find it in the controls in the tab.

    I personally have Ati so i cant give you the name but there should be something akin to what the "Catalyst Control Center"is for Ati(AMD) in nVidia also.

    Not from control panel. Check the bottom tab near the clock you should find something by nvidia or simply type in search and find it.
     
  5. spm

    spm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i thought the optimus tech switches between the gfx cards automatically...
     
  6. unni

    unni New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thiruvananthapuram (Now in Bengaluru)
    Offtopic:
    Sorry to put this here. My friends HP laptop shutsdown within 5 mins. Service center guy said its due to the nVidia graphics card. So will it be possible to disable or remove it so that he can use the Intel one (if there is any)?
     
  7. marvelousprashant

    marvelousprashant New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Allhababd
    Nvidia 540M uses Optimus technology that switches between dedicated and integrated graphics automatically. When you are playing games the Nvidia card is used automatically. If you are having problems just update the drivers

    Intel HD graphics come only with the core i series processors. If laptop is shutting down then try cleaning the air vents and using the laptop in cool environment. A cooling pad would be best
     

Share This Page