How to Limit broadband speed on a Network ?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by s18000rpm, Oct 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I'm using Dataone ul1350 plan & using UTStarcom WA3002G4 modem.

    Desktop is connected thru LAN cable, laptop connects thru WiFi.

    What i want to do is cap the speed for wi-fi systems, i want to allocate more speed for desktop.

    Desktop should get 40/45KBps & laptop 20KBps.

    Both desktop & laptop use Vista.

    is there any way to do this, preferably a easy, reversible one:))

    something like this www.netlimiter.com but for PC's on network.
     
  2. dheeraj_kumar

    dheeraj_kumar Legen-wait for it-dary!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Have you tried the modem settings page? it might have something.
     
  3. arunks

    arunks Hey here is the aks

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    punjab
    i m also in a need of this thing..

    But i want to limit speed on the desktop so as easily use on laptop..

    I m using airtel connection with wifi router..

    plz reply soon with the solutions
     
  4. victor_rambo

    victor_rambo हॉर्न ओके प्लीज़

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. OP
    OP
    s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    nope, this modem doesnt have those features.:(

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. Huzefa

    Huzefa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats a nice idea to limit bb speeds for wifi n desktop, s18000rpm... I read this just now and realized its an option I need too...

    @Rohan,
    Dosent help, these two sites...
    http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/469092836/m/9060910491/inc/-1
    http://forums.techguy.org/networking/614162-help-limit-speed-wireless-internet.html

    after going thru all my options of my WiFI Router,
    Cisco Linksys wireless-g 2.4 GHz 54 Mbps (WRT54G), I'm stumped... its high on technical jargon and low on help or ease of use...

    Anyone has got any other solutions...
    I'm sure there must be a small simple program to do this on the billions of files on the net...
    thnkx :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page