How can we compress a 2GB file to 500 kb?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by choudang, Jan 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. choudang

    choudang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Guwahati
    hey guys.... i wanna know how can i compress a 2GB file into a 500kb file. yesterday i have got a file sized 410kb rar which included 1 mdb file sized 2GB. can we do it with Winrar any version? is there any s/w to make a compress file like that? if i make one, is there any data damaging chance? now i tried with WinRar, but its make a 198 MB file to 170MB [best]

    thanks
     
  2. Quiz_Master

    Quiz_Master * Teh Flirt King *

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Originally From : Ratlam M.P., Currently in: Hyder
    2 gb file compressed to 500 kbs are u mad....

    Nothing can do that.....
     
  3. vijay_7287

    vijay_7287 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    something like this has been posted before

    i think there is something like a bomb
    does the file u got work properly???
     
  4. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. OP
    choudang

    choudang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Guwahati
    yes.. all the files are working properly..... and now i have got another one.... u won't believe that this one is a installation image... [Alcohol 120%].. thats why i'm asking the question, how can they done it? if they can, why can't we?

    have a look.... [due to pvc... deleted the names.. sorry]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. hansraj

    hansraj New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    @warrior
    now it depends that which file are u trying to compress. If the file is a doc,xls,mdb then u can of course compress it to that extent but if u want to compress the image file or a video file (which is actually compressed) then u will not get any compresssion whatever u may use... winrar,winzip or whatever
     
  7. OP
    choudang

    choudang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Guwahati
    i know that hansraj.. i have tried it 2yrs back, after a unsuccess story .. i just ignored about tat [was n't a image].

    but now i have 4-7image file..... original downloaded size was 400-700 kb.... after that... just follow the above pic.... the red marked one is the source.. just have look on the winrar..... do you see the bird?
     
  8. satbir

    satbir New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    delhi
    how can someone compress a file to that extent.......... thats not possible.... halucinating or wat??
     
  9. yrana2002

    yrana2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Black Pearl
    There is something called a Mini-image which has come out now.

    "A mini-image is a partial image of the cd and includes a part of the program recorded on the cd (albeit a very small part). If used for legitimate back-up purposes (i.e. so that the game/app can be played/run by mounting the mini-image whilst the original is put away for safe-keeping), that's ok.

    However, if hex editing is required to make the mini-image, that involves a modification of part of the program without the copyright holder's permission and that is, of course, illegal.
    "

    These are just about 600KB-5MB & work as a No-cd crack, etc.

    Regarding other files, i remember a compressor called UHARC which had tremendous compression speeds, which had compressed GTA 3 into a 200MB folder. (However, the radio files & some sound files were deleted)
     
  10. go4saket

    go4saket 9437077259

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sambalpur, Orissa
    My dear friend, I guess you are mistaken in figures. Check out the image that you have posted.

    The file size it shows clearly says that the total compression if calculated is about 85% of the original file size, and compressing that is is pretty simple.

    The file size it is showing is in Bytes and not KB. If taking the first file as an example, the original file size if of 2719 KB and the compressed file is of 405 KB. Just ckeck it out again and you will see where you got mistaken...
     
  11. Were not in nano age my friend. It's a hoax perhaps.
     
  12. OP
    choudang

    choudang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Guwahati
    have you seen the image clearly.. may be you can't able to see the .mdf file sized 2gb.... and .mds file is 2mb. and the source is 410kb. so make the post after geting the point.. ok.
    i'm not trying to make the forum fool. if it is posible to us.. then we will able to reduce the HDD space use.
     
  13. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,366
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
  14. dinesh_mettur

    dinesh_mettur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TamilNadu
    2 gb 2 500kb

    it is highly impossible ....
     
  15. OP
    choudang

    choudang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Guwahati
    unf'ly..... i have installed [sorry... subject can't be disclosed]. its working fine. i can post a mounted image also... for that i need a time cuz after installing, i have only 1.5 GB space free.
    BTW.. i have 7zip and this is better than winrar, command line.. thats the drawback..

    i have seen the mini for games.... i'm not talking about this.... i'm abit confused that how come they compress like that....

    ps: the source of the file is a underground.
     
  16. __Virus__

    __Virus__ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    The max till date i complresses was 80MB file to 900 kb using a program on neos site. coudnt file it anywhere now.
     
  17. go4saket

    go4saket 9437077259

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sambalpur, Orissa
    My dear friend, I am just not able to understand where the hell are you able to see a 2 GB size. The MDF file you are talking about is of 2,784,768 Bytes and the MDS file of 2850 Bytes, the total of which is 2,787,618 Bytes which is clearly visible in the address bar kind of thing in the picture that you have posted.

    Now, talking about the MDF file, if you convert 2,784,768 Bytes to KB, it comes to 2719 KB, i.e. 2.65 MB and the packed/compressed size is of 415,716 Bytes i.e. 406 KB i.e. 0.39 MB.

    Now, I should say that you should check your own image file before posting. Your address bar very clearly shows that the size are all in BYTES and not KB.

    Moreover, forget about Bytes/KB/MB/GB stuff. Check the compressed figures. Even if the figures would have been in MB or GB or what so ever, the compression percentage if you can calculate will give you answers to all your questions...

    Check it buddy... :D :D :D No offence... :wink:
     
  18. Dipen01

    Dipen01 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    May be Saket is rite....the address bar says...

    unpacked size [ 2,787,618 bytes == 2,787,618/1024 == 2772 kbytes ]

    [2772/1024 mbytes == 2.65 mbytes (MB)]

    So i guess compression from 2.65 MB to 500 KB is Okey...isnt it...??
    Correct me if am wrong..am just going by image !!!


    Well i had another doubt!! U people must be knowing that the setup file of Adobe Acrobat Reader is something around 15 MB. But when we install it it uncompresses to around 150 MB. How is it possible. I am not saying that it is not. as they have done...!!! But how do they compress to 10% and also with self extracting archive..
     
  19. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Maybe its only a volume of a big archive. Suppose if we compress a 100 mb file and set the option divide into "say 10 mb" then we get about 10(or 9) 10mb files. If we open any one of them we can see the original file size as 100 mb and we might mistake that the 100MB file has been compressed to 10 mb. I think something like this has happened here.
     
  20. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,366
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..

    Pls send me the file at tarey_g@yahoo.com , it will be clear than
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page