"Disk is write protected" error

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by shady_inc, Aug 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shady_inc

    shady_inc Pee into the Wind...

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Everytime I plug in my card reader I get this error.

    [​IMG]

    This means I can't transfer any data to my card.Data transfer from card to PC takes place properly though.I can't even format the card using card reader because of it.I use Nokia 6630 and 1 gb card.

    Does someone know of a solution.??:confused: .This problem is driving me nuts.:mad: .
     
  2. Gigacore

    Gigacore Dreamweaver

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,882
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    disable the write protect of ur card
     
  3. OP
    shady_inc

    shady_inc Pee into the Wind...

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    How do i do it???
     
  4. narangz

    narangz Web developer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Paradise
    mmc doesnt have write protection, afaik. it might be password protected using some app or password protection. if you can find a camera which supports mmc & format it or use a card reader which formats protected cards. can u format it in the phone? also remove the card properly from the phone after it closes all the apps and displays that you can remove the card.

     
  5. OP
    shady_inc

    shady_inc Pee into the Wind...

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    The MMC is not password protected.I formatted it a dozen times already from my fone.But just after formatting if I put the card back in,it comes up with the same error.
     
  6. Gigacore

    Gigacore Dreamweaver

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,882
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    so time to get a new one :D
     
  7. sam_1710

    sam_1710 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do this always!! .. Try it it works flawlessly!! :))
     
  8. OP
    shady_inc

    shady_inc Pee into the Wind...

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Which cell do u use??Were u facing the same problem before doing it??Is it safe to do so??
     
  9. OP
    shady_inc

    shady_inc Pee into the Wind...

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    @ narangz: thnx for the info buddy.The tape trick worked!!!!

    You and all others deserve credit for helping me out.;)
     
  10. OP
    shady_inc

    shady_inc Pee into the Wind...

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    The problem has resurfaced.Now even with the tape on,it's showing the same error.Any help??
     
  11. sam_1710

    sam_1710 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nah.. dat shouldn't happen.. make sure dat not even a small piece of the metal is exposed !!.. that oughtta do it!!
     
  12. spinach-guy

    spinach-guy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do one thing.
    Go to My Computer.Right click on your memory card.Navigate to Properties>Hardware.Select your Memory card from the list.Click on Properties>Policies>Optimize for Quick Removal..Save the settings.It worked for me.;-)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page