CPU fan speed is "zero". Problem?

Discussion in 'CPU / Motherboards' started by Sarath, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. Sarath

    Sarath iDota

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, Visakhapatnam, Abu Dhabi
    I just got a message saying that the CPU fan speed has reduced to zero. In easier terms the CPU fan stopped spinning. This happened spontaneously.

    The PC has been on for many hours now; almost 8hours with intermittent switching to sleep mode. Could it be the cause?

    I have a i5 2500k on a Asus P8P67 V (?) mobo. Thanks to the transparent side window I could visually confirm that the fan had stopped and quickly went to the Asus suite and changed the fan speed to turbo. After that again to standard (present). It was either on silent or standard mode before that.

    I want to know:
    1) What could cause the fan to stop spinning? [I was browsing on chrome witht a game client running in the background]

    2) I changed the fan speed within 2 mins of the notification pop up. Did it damage my CPU? Will it damage my CPU in the future if the fan stops spinning for such durations or more?

    New PC. :-( Kindly Help :-(
     
  2. mithun_mrg

    mithun_mrg Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Assam
    Try updating the MB Bios Disable the auto fan speed from bios i think if the BIOS update dosent solve ur prob it would be wise to RMA the MB since it is new
     
  3. Skud

    Skud Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    10 light years away
    Which software are you using for checking the fan speed?
     
  4. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    No damage would have happened that fast. Is it fine now. The speed.
     
  5. Skud

    Skud Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    10 light years away
    If using HWMonitor or HWInfo, even I have also seen it reports 0 sometimes, but all of that time when AC was on. Tried to see whether my fan has actually stopped, but never really seen it.
     
  6. OP
    Sarath

    Sarath iDota

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, Visakhapatnam, Abu Dhabi
    I have no idea about those softwares. All I know is that the Asus one comes with a software called "AI Suite II 1.01.14" which has got some features to overclock and check temp & speeds.

    The fan speed is zero notification pop up was of this software only. I visually checked the fan and it had stopped. As I said I set it to turbo mode after that and its working fine now.
     
  7. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,503
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    There's a bios setting on some mobo bios like if your cpu temp is say 30/40c the fan speed will be 0 and if it's above 30/40c then bios will automatically control fan speed. Check those settings. Also Disable Smart Fan or similar settings and set the cpu fan speed manually to 100% and post the feedback.
     
  8. Skud

    Skud Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,329
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    10 light years away
    Yeah, there's a smart fan setting but nothing like keeping fan speed to 0. OK, I will check.
     
  9. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,503
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    ^^ yep, post back the result - I always set the fan speed manually to rotate at 100% of my Hyper 212 ;-)
     
  10. OP
    Sarath

    Sarath iDota

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, Visakhapatnam, Abu Dhabi
    I am not accustomed with all the settings. All I could manage was getting into the the BIOS which gave me CPU temps at 55c and fan speed at around 1000rpm.

    I had fiddled with the setting before that happened and put them in silent mode (>900rpm). Now they are running on standard mode (1000-1250rpm) and seem fine.

    At the time of writing the CPU temp is 40c and CPU fan speed is (1200-1500rpm). I think leaving the setting on standard is good enough for now. I am not sure how to set them manually but I hope that is not a problem as of now.
    I have a Tempest Evo case which has 6 fans, however silent they may be, all of them together sure make significant noice. That is why I reduced the fan speed. Is it ok if I set the CPU fan speed to normal around 1500rpm and reduce chasis fan speeds?
     
  11. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,503
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    I think if you disable ( if there's a option for it ) the CPU fan speed control the the cpu fan will spin at max speed possible ;-)

    1500 RPM cpu fan speed won't produce any loud noise and if those cabby fans are running at ~1000 RPM then I think you don't need to reduce them but you can always try 800 RPM speed ;-)
     

Share This Page