Connecting to the Internet running on a Linux live CD

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by Cool Joe, Nov 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cool Joe

    Cool Joe The Black Waltz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Shed
    I want to connect to the net when I'm booted into a live CD of Ubuntu. Is there any way to do so? I'm using version 8.04 BTW. I'm planning to try installing it using VirtualBox.
     
  2. thewisecrab

    thewisecrab AFK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    It should detect the port and be up-and-running by the time you boot up.
    Atleast thats what happened on my live CD...
     
  3. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do the same you would otherwise do for an installed linux.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Cool Joe

    Cool Joe The Black Waltz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Shed
    ^^Well, I haven't set up an internet connection in Linux before.
    I'm a Linux n00b.
     
  5. FilledVoid

    FilledVoid Who stole my Alpaca!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    If you have somethign that connects to the Ethernet port (broadband). Just turn on the computer and you should already be connected if the router is already set up right. If you have a dial up connection which connects to a COM port (external modem) then that too works after you configure a connection). Check out the thread above it might help you with more details.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Cool Joe

    Cool Joe The Black Waltz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Shed
    That's my question. How do I configure my router? (in Linux)
     
  7. FilledVoid

    FilledVoid Who stole my Alpaca!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    Use a browser to access the router interface. To access my router in Linux/ Window sor whatever I would open a browser and type 192.168.1.1 . How did you do it in Windows ? First of all how about giving some details on HOW you get on the internet. Are you using a router which connnects to the USB or eth0 port?

    If your router worked in Windows then there should not be anything needed for a connection to work if you are ok with the connection being on ocne you boot your system. Did you check the thread on Configuring your Linux box for Internet access ?
     
  8. NucleusKore

    NucleusKore TheSaint

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Antigua
    Your post is very confusing :)

    If you are going to run Ubuntu on VirtualBox in Windows there is nothing to ask. Just install it and the internet will be setup automatically.

    If you want to boot your PC using the live CD, then it depends on what type of broadband connection you have (assuming you have a broadband connection??).
    1. If you dial into your connection manually in Windows, everytime you want to connect to the internet, then in Ubuntu live CD Desktop

      Press Alt and F2

      Type
      pppoeconf
      and press ENTER
      and run through the wizard
    2. If your internet connection is always on, then there is nothing to do, boot with the live CD and browse
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Cool Joe

    Cool Joe The Black Waltz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Shed
    BTW, sorry but I should've asked my question in a better way. My router connects through the ethernet port, and I've got to manually dial a connection every time. It isn't an always on connection. And I'd already tried navigating to the router configuration page through the browser, but I didn't get the page at all.

    @NucleusKore- Well, you see, I'll create a virtual Linux machine using VirtualBox, but I don't have the time for that right now, so I wanted to know if I could surf the net through a live CD of Linux. :)
    I want to dump my pirated copy of XP, but it's not possible right now. :-(
    I've dumped all pirated software though, and use only FOSS. :)

    I'll try NucleusKore's suggestion BTW.
     
  10. Rahim

    Rahim Married!

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    ^Good going beta_testing for shunning ahem version and embracing FOSS (i might sound like praka123 :)) )
     
  11. thewisecrab

    thewisecrab AFK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    No man. You sound like a typical FOSSaite. :D
    Anyway, beta testing. Welcome to the Wonderful World of Linux :)
     
  12. Rahim

    Rahim Married!

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    ^Yesssss
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Cool Joe

    Cool Joe The Black Waltz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Shed
    @NucleusKore- I did it but nothing came up. The disk kept spinning, but nothing came up :(

    And hey, I'm not dumping my pirated XP anytime soon. I'll install Ubuntu once I get a new HDD and I'll try to do as much as possible with Linux, but I'll have to keep XP for playing a game or two.
     
  14. thewisecrab

    thewisecrab AFK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    What do you mean?
    You did type it the terminal right?
    Check out these instructions (and confirm with us too)
    http://www.techotopia.com/index.php/Connecting_an_Ubuntu_Linux_System_to_a_DSL_Modem
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Cool Joe

    Cool Joe The Black Waltz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Shed
    Yay!!! I'm posting this in Linux right now. I used pppoeconf to set up the connection. It was damn easy. In fact, it's easier than setting up a connection in Windows. :)
    Thanks all.
     
  16. Faun

    Faun Wahahaha~! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,913
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pune/there
    oh, nothing is easier than windows point and click.
    You must be kidding :p
     
  17. thewisecrab

    thewisecrab AFK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    Great man. When are yo going to install it? :wink:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    Cool Joe

    Cool Joe The Black Waltz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Shed
    I'm talking about setting up a PPPOE connection. In Windows, it's not as easy as in Linux. :|

    I'm planning to use Slax 'coz it's small in size.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2008
  19. NucleusKore

    NucleusKore TheSaint

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Antigua
    I have written a tutorial for setting up a pppoe connection in OpenSUSE 11.0. See the FAQ in Open Source section
     
  20. thewisecrab

    thewisecrab AFK

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bombay
    Why Slax?
    I mean what your config?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page