Configure my Dataone Account in Outlook Express

Discussion in 'Broadband and DTH' started by h_kunte, Jan 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. h_kunte

    h_kunte New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur, India
    Hello all,

    I am posting my query here ONLY after posting it to the dataone queries sticky & not getting favourable replies...
    Also since my problem happens to be quite serious (& irritating), I had to start a new thread...My problem is as follows:

    I configured my dataone e-mail id with outlook express using the following incoming & outgoing e-mail servers:

    Incoming (POP3): nmma.sancharnet.in
    smma.sancharnet.in

    Outgoing:(SMTP): nmra.sancharnet.in
    smra.sancharnet.in

    I was told these separate server names by 2 members on this forum itself...

    After I configured the mail servers, on opening outlook express, my main broadband connection gets disconnected....This also happens when I shut down the outlook express window.

    Also, I get the following error in OE:

    The host 'smma.sancharnet.in' could not be found. Please verify that you have entered the server name correctly. Account: 'smma.sancharnet.in', Server: 'smma.sancharnet.in', Protocol: POP3, Port: 110, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 11004, Error Number: 0x800CCC0D

    The same message is repeated for the "nmma.san...", "nmra.sa...", "smra.san..." servers....

    Whenever, I start or close OE, my broadband connection gets disconnected & I have to open all my net based applications all over again.....Also my Yahoo messenger hangs, & refuses to sign in even after reconnecting the net connection.....Its been very irritating for me since the last 2 days...


    Could anyone let me know possible reasons & their solutions? I shall be grateful to all of you...

    Sorry once again for starting a new thread...

    TiA

    HK
     
  2. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,439
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
  3. OP
    OP
    h_kunte

    h_kunte New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagpur, India
    A reply at last!!!

    Hey Arun, I have the data one manual which says that the servers are as follows:

    Incoming: wmma.dataone.in
    Outgoing: nmra.dataone.in

    Which one am I supposed to use? I mean the "nmma" one or the "smma" one??

    Also that doesnt solve my disconnection problem....I still have to reconnect every time I start & close Outlook Express....:((

    Hk
     
  4. desertwind

    desertwind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
  5. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,439
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    To add to the confusion, at http://www.keralatelecom.com/broadband/usermanual.asp there is config info posted as
    POP Server: smma.sancharnet.in
    SMTP Server: smra.sancharnet.in (While configuring Outlook Express, select the option ‘ My server needs authentication’). I gyess you have to try one after the other in the hopes that you will somehow get the right solution...

    Regarding Outlook problem, I have only one suggestion - switch to a different mail client... There are some pretty good alternatives including Mozilla Thunderbird and Eudora. Opera has a basic email feature but I dont think it is as yet powerful enough.

    Arun
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page