chkdsk doesnt fix some errors !!

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by CyCo, Mar 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    hi

    Yesterday suddenly i cdnt acces one of my slave drives .. 160GB SATA , Seagate [1 partition of 149 GB only ].. only clicking it says format ?

    So i ran chkdsk with /f AND /r options .. it says ..


    CHKDSK is verifying files (stage 1 of 3)...
    File record segment 4 is unreadable.
    File record segment 5 is unreadable.
    File record segment 6 is unreadable.
    File record segment 7 is unreadable.
    File record segment 56 is unreadable.
    File record segment 112 is unreadable.
    File record segment 200 is unreadable.
    Correcting a minor error in file 204.
    Deleted corrupt attribute list for file 204.
    Correcting a minor error in file 207.
    Deleting corrupt attribute record (128, "")
    from file record segment 207.
    Correcting a minor error in file 208.
    Deleting corrupt attribute record (128, "")
    from file record segment 208.
    Correcting a minor error in file 209.
    Correcting a minor error in file 210.
    Deleting corrupt attribute record (160, $I30)
    from file record segment 210.
    Correcting a minor error in file 211.

    //// long list ////


    Correcting a minor error in file 2406.
    Deleting corrupt attribute record (128, "")
    from file record segment 2406.
    Correcting a minor error in file 2407.
    Deleting corrupt attribute record (128, "")
    from file record segment 2407.
    File verification completed.
    Deleting orphan file record segment 76.

    G:\>


    It doesnt do the other stages .. i ran this over and over and over again .. it would sometimes check different files , but the harddisk is still not accessible .. my data is there acc. to stellar phoenix i just cant access it !!!

    what do i do ??

    what do i do ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2007
  2. ravi_9793

    ravi_9793 TechTin.com

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LocalHost
    is ur drive FAT32 type of NTFS??
    If ur partition is NTFS type than read here:
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=315688

    Do you large number of files...they may have cluster the dive.So,do cleaning work with some good cleaner.
    you can find some system cleaner here:
    http://techiehome.org/viewtopic.php?t=519
    http://techiehome.org/viewtopic.php?t=281
    http://techiehome.org/viewtopic.php?t=215


    For error U are getting that " cannot acces drives ":
    There may be some device/program that is reading/writing to
    the drive. Some anti-virus applications do this.USe UNLOCKER to find what program are running .
    Download unlocker from here:
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/System-Miscellaneous/Unlocker.shtml
     
  3. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    It is NTFS ..

    The NTFS page doesnt have anything relevant to the problem specified above ..

    the links are registry cleaners and evidence remover ?? !!!

    i am not getting a cannot access drive error .. i CANNOT ACCESS MY DRIVE ..

    if i open my computer , it hangs , unless my drive 160 GB Dynamic NTFS is running under chkdsk ..
     
  4. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    any ideas ?
     
  5. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    ne1 ??
     
  6. sumeetindia

    sumeetindia New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0x02EA82EF
    Install Partaion magic

    OR
    If u are not able to start your PC install it in some other PC .and create an booatable disk of partation magic

    Then boot with the disk
    RT click on your drive and select "check for errors"If it find error then "click FIX ALL"
    pat magic drive checker is far better than MS drive checker
     
  7. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    my boot is on another HDD ...

    so i can boot .. ill try the partition magic check and post .
     
  8. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    doesnt wrk .. it detects the harddisk ..

    but the error check says ..critical CRC error .. and then says error 7 canceled by user .. even tho i dont do nething ..

    ne ideas ?
     
  9. dtox

    dtox The Techno Perv

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dude.. hdd corrupt.. u cn only format it now :D
     
  10. sumeetindia

    sumeetindia New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0x02EA82EF
    Hmmm..
    I too think the formating is the only think left after this.
    If u r then not able to fix the error even after formatting give it for warranty
     
  11. abhijangda

    abhijangda New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In your hearts
    Hey friend I think your hdd have developed some bad sectors or your file system is corrupt. First try formatting your hdd. If this doesn't work then you can do only one thing i.e. to replace your hdd.
     
  12. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    :( :( .. the point is that i dont want to format it ...

    neways ill try a recovery now ..
     
  13. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    i formatted and fixed the errors ..

    now when i copied data again .. at some point after 100GB (out of 160) it started giving same unreadable errors etcetc..
     
  14. Tech.Masti

    Tech.Masti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ( 22.2° N, 88.2° E )
    hard disk is your main culprit, anyway try to install some linux on it..... Or try to delete all partition in that hard disk using linux , creat partition with linux and also format it with linux...... Sometimes it works;)
     
  15. Harvik780

    Harvik780 ToTheBeatOfUrHeart

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston,Newyork
    I think u might be still having warranty on the hard drive.U might even recover some of the data at the segate service center.Go get it checked at the segate service center.
     
  16. phreak0ut

    phreak0ut The Thread Killer >:)

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Try to low level format the drive. If the problem still persists, you have to buy a new drive.

    WARNING!-ALL DATA WILL BE LOST IF YOU FORMAT YOUR DISK AT LOW LEVEL
     
  17. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    hmm .. linux having better formatting ?? dunno ..

    what exactly is low level formatting ?? and since ive already quick+deep formatted it once, im sure i WILL lose data .. :)
     
  18. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    but how could anything go wrong with the hard disk just like that ..

    one day its working just fine .. next day .. gone !!
     
  19. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^ happened wid 2 HDDs of mine! here today gone tomorrow!!! reasons can be varying....

    anyways, afaik actual low level format can only be one at the service center/factory. as of today, majority of the "low level" format tools available will only to a "zero fill" format and they call this as low level format. anyways u can try that.

    try this software, hddscan:
    http://hddguru.com/content/en/software/
     
  20. OP
    CyCo

    CyCo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    will do and report !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page