AMD Fusion Motherboard with SATA and PATA ports?

Discussion in 'CPU / Motherboards' started by reniarahim1, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. reniarahim1

    reniarahim1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pheonix, Arizona (AZ) / Cochin(KL) , IND
    Hi All,

    I am looking for a motherboard based on AMD fusion platform which will support both SATA and PATA hard disks, as i want to reuse my existing hard disk.

    Processor will be AMD - A6 3650

    I dont want to go with the PCI-> PATA adaptor. Please do give your suggessions.

    Thanks in Advance..
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2012
  2. thetechfreak

    thetechfreak .

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,675
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Dont think any one these newer boards have PATA ports.
     
  3. ico

    ico .</br><img src="http://i.imgur.com/XoY1dbu.jpg"/>< Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10,875
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bangalore
    PATA/IDE is dead. Time to move on and buy a SATA Hard Disk.
     
  4. Tech_Wiz

    Tech_Wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chinchwad Pune
    You said you don't want to use existing HDD then all new HDD is market are SATA only.

    If you want to use it anyway then I dont think any Fusion Mobo has PATA port. Either you have to use it with PCI Card with PATA Slot or Buy the USB case and convert it in External USB HDD for data storage.
     
  5. OP
    reniarahim1

    reniarahim1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pheonix, Arizona (AZ) / Cochin(KL) , IND
    oops..my bad...it was a typo..i meant i want to make use of existing HDD. I dont want to keep idle a perfectly working HDD.

    If the motherboard does not support PATA is there any alternate ways? i have seen PCI card with PATA slot but how reliable is the same?

    I don't mind it using as an External USB HDD but here also is there any external case that support PATA hard disk.
     
  6. Tech_Wiz

    Tech_Wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chinchwad Pune
  7. AcceleratorX

    AcceleratorX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The New World Order
    The closest you will get is an ECS AM3+ Bulldozer motherboard (A990FXM-A) that does have PATA ports.

    ECS Web Site

    I don't know how you can buy it in India, try contacting Rashi peripherals since they are the distributors for ECS products in India.

    However, I would not recommend ECS branded motherboards, so you would really be taking a risk buying it.
     
  8. OP
    reniarahim1

    reniarahim1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pheonix, Arizona (AZ) / Cochin(KL) , IND
    Thanks guys.I will get a IDE USB casing in that case. Few more qns :)
    1) Suggessions for Fusion supported motherboards with HDMI and DVI support.
    2) Has the HDD price come down or will it come down soon?
     
  9. Tech_Wiz

    Tech_Wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chinchwad Pune
  10. OP
    reniarahim1

    reniarahim1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pheonix, Arizona (AZ) / Cochin(KL) , IND
  11. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,503
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    but that's not a socket FM1 mobo Op is asking for.

    @ OP - tell us your budget for the mobo.
     
  12. OP
    reniarahim1

    reniarahim1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pheonix, Arizona (AZ) / Cochin(KL) , IND
    till 8k should be fine.
     
  13. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,503
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    get Asus F1A75-M-PRO.
     

Share This Page