Advice about buying new memory

Discussion in 'PC Components / Configurations' started by amardeep.sidhu, Jul 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. amardeep.sidhu

    amardeep.sidhu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I am having an assembled PC with Intel board DB85FL & Intel core i5 4440. I was using 4 x 2 GB Transcend DDR3 RAM sticks. After some time 2 of them went bad. I checked for warranty but no company was providing the services for Transcend. So couldn't do anything with them.

    Now I am planning to upgrade the RAM to at least 16 GB. I think this board supports maximum of 32 GB and has 4 slots. So thinking of buying 2 x 8 GB sticks. Main purpose of this PC is to run VirtualBox VMs. Any suggestions for a good RAM and company that has good number of service centers in India.

    Thank you
    Amardeep
     
  2. SaiyanGoku

    SaiyanGoku kamehameha!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7,537
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hyderabad/Raipur
  3. OP
    OP
    amardeep.sidhu

    amardeep.sidhu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you. Let me check this. Probably at that time it was messed up.

    But if I have to buy a new one which one you would recommend ?

    Thanks
     
  4. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,030
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    NCR
    Post your experience here as I only saw bad reviews about Transcend warranty support in India a few years back.Maybe things have changed now.
     
  5. icebags

    icebags Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    corsair value ram are good,
     
  6. OP
    OP
    amardeep.sidhu

    amardeep.sidhu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. Anyone any experience with Corsair service? How is it in India?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    amardeep.sidhu

    amardeep.sidhu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sure. Let me locate those old sticks and talk to these guys. Will update you once there is some result.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    amardeep.sidhu

    amardeep.sidhu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry for the trouble again guys. I tried to find value select ddr3 but could find only one option. Amazon.in: Buy Corsair CMV16GX3M2A1333C9 16GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Online at Low Prices in India | Corsair Reviews & Ratings

    This one also says that there is no warranty for this in India as Amazon is shipping it from Global store. Also Corsair doesn't have any specific website for India so kinda confusing which ones they are actually servicing in India.

    Any other hints/tips ?

    Thanks
     
  9. bssunilreddy

    bssunilreddy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,441
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Secunderabad
    Corsair Value Select DDR3 8 GB (1 x 8GB) PC Desktop RAM (CMV8GX3M1A1600C11) | eBay
    Use an eBay coupons and get a discount.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    amardeep.sidhu

    amardeep.sidhu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. This one i can find on Amazon.in also. One more question. What is the difference between buying two 8 GB sticks and buying a 16 GB (2 x 8 GB kit) ? Are these two things different ? Till now i was searching for kits (16, 2 * 8) only and this one didn't show up in the search.

    Thank you.
     
  11. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,030
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    NCR
    Nothing that is noticeable in typical PC usage scenarios.Dual channel ram performance improvement is only noticeable in very limited atypical scenarios.

    Though a common sense(if you can call it like this) reason may be that getting 2 ram sticks is safer bet in case of ram failure as chances of both ram sticks going bad at same time is less than a single ram stick going bad.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017 at 9:47 PM
  12. OP
    OP
    amardeep.sidhu

    amardeep.sidhu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. So if i understand correctly, a kit of two 8 GB sticks would be two dual channel sticks that should be used in same colored slots on the board ? For individual 8 GB sticks, they are going to be single channel and can be used in any slots.

    I plan to use 2 or 3 * 8 GB sticks. The board is Intel DB85FL. It supports a maximum of 32 GB. But this thing left me confused. The specs pdf says

    Support for up to 32 GB of system memory with four DIMMs using 4 Gb memory technology

    I should be able to use 8 GB * 3 sticks. Right ?


    Pls correct me if i am wrong.

    There are so many variations in Corsair's DDR3 offerings that it has left me completely confused. A lot of them on Amazon are being shipped from the Global store and don't carry warranty in India.

    Thank you.
     
  13. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,030
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    NCR
    It is just some technical info which is practically irrelevant.You can buy any 1600 ram & there are lots of them from Indian stores.You can even try other indian pc parts shopping sites like mdcomputers,vedanta computers,primeabgb,deltapage,overclockerszone or theitdepot.
     
  14. icebags

    icebags Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    if you trying to get multiple rams, then get exact same model with exact same batch, otherwise they may potentially make your pc life hell.
     
  15. ithehappy

    ithehappy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,675
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Calcutta
    I get why the GPU prices have increased but why RAM prices have increased, I mean its like doubled than just from a year ago!
     
  16. gta5

    gta5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    RAM as well as SSD both .. mainly because of Smartphones and servers high demands and limited supply as manufacturers are moving their production to new process and they are still expected to increase for whole of this year .. the situation is expected to improve by Q2 next year .. by late 2018 or Q1 2019 we will see prices we had earlier..

    SSD's may become significantly cheaper per GB by mid next year .. as 64 layer 3d NAND is supposed to bring costs down significantly compared to current SSD's .. some of which have started appearing already in market

    DRAM and NAND supply shortage expected to last until 2018 | KitGuru
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017 at 11:37 AM

Share This Page